Sweet Potato Pineapple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Wonderful! Just a little tweaking and it came out great! I found that a 9x13 pan was a little too big, maybe a 9x9 would do better? Also, I added a full cup of pineapple along with some cinnamon. Not too sweet, not too tangy. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Wow, was this good (and easy)! To save time, I peeled and cubed the sweet potatoes, boiled them for 8 minutes, then drained. I also added 1 cup pineapple instead of 1/2 cup. I, too, used a 9x9" baking dish, as others suggested (perfect size!). My recipe was ready after 30 minutes of baking. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
this is fantastic!! i would give it 10 stars if i could as would EVERYONE at thanksgiving dinner where i brought this as my contribution. as usual i changed something--topping made of ½ cup brown sugar, ½ cup flour, 1/3 cup melted margarine, ¾ cup chopped pecans, 6 slices canned pineapple rings, -Beautiful dish. use sweet potatoes, not yams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I made this for my family at Thanksgiving...they all raved! So much better than any I've had before. I even used canned yams and they were still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I always try a new sweet potato recipe every Thanksgiving until...my husband no longer lets me make any other recipe but this one! It's light not-so-sweet flavor is the perfect compliment to Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLINJACKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit! I added some chopped peacons for a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I was slightly hesitant about this wondering how the pairing of pineapple and sweet potato would taste, but thought it turned out excellent! I was tired of seeing recipes for sweet potato casseroles that really packed the calories with sugar, syrup, marshmallows, etc. Sweet potatoes are naturally sweet and I wanted something that would bring out that flavor while staying healthy since this is one of the best veggies for you! This recipe did it for me. I can't wait to make for my family on Thanksgiving! This could even pass as a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The addition of maraschino cherries adds something special to this wonderful dish! Perfect for holiday dinners, but my husband and I cheat and eat it throughout the year ... Shh! Thanks Delora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emelye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
At our place everyone just takes a tiny spoonful of sweet potatoes (but we can't pass them up just the same!), so I don't want to spend too much time and energy on them. I used a 40oz can of sweet potatoes which seemed more like 2 potatoes worth, and cut the other ingredients accordingly. I'd probably do that again because it was so quick and easy to mash them and mix this up. I'd use a little less sugar next time, since the pineapple adds some sweetness. I think it needs a little something on top for presentation sake, too - maybe cut the sugar in the potatoes and just add a crumb topping. Will try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My sister-in-law makes these sweet potatoes every Thanksgiving! Always a hit and so easy to make. I followed this recipe exactly. Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States