Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This pie is exceptional! It has become a tradition for us to have this every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. We serve it as a side rather than a dessert. The glaze on top is what makes this recipe stand out from all the others. Thanks so much! The only change I make is to use 2 T flour for the pie base instead of 2 t to help it set more firmly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greenbabby
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Most people loved this pie. It was a little too sweet, next time i'll reduce the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was my first try at sweet potato pie and it was a success! I increased the flour by 1 teaspoon, otherwise everything was the same. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Verona, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
i have made many sweet potato pies but his recipe was by far the best will make it again and again!! the glaze really sets it off!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Everyone loved this pie! I often bake and send a pie next store, the couple next store said it was the best pie they had ever tasted. I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Very easy to make. The texture is nothing like pumpkin pie(which is how it is supposed to be)and I liked it. The taste was very good, but is VERY sweet,I would cut back on the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
The flavor and texture was like a sweet potato casserole in pie form. Maybe that is what it is supposed to be, but I was expecting more of a firm pie, not so mushy. However it may have been all my fault. My husband said he wanted a smooth texture, so I pureed the potatoes. Also, I used 1/2c brown sugar and 1c white sugar. It overflowed, so I would definitely go with a deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
very good i added numeg and allspice to it it was great thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baskerville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
The basic pie is what I've made all my adult cooking years. My kids call it Mom's Carolina Sweet Potato Pie and ask for it at any occasion throughout the year. I've never put spices into my sweet potato pie because that makes it more like a pumpkin pie and no one in my family will eat pumpkin! The glaze made an already good pie, outstanding. Excellent pie and well worth doing the topping. This is down home good!! Thanks TOH, you did it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I made this pie for a sweet potato pie baking contest at work. This was my first attempt at making one. It was an easy win! There were no other pies that had a caramelized pecan topping and the judges were very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States