Sweet Potato Pie with Marshmallow Meringue Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gremolata
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This was a fun pie to make! It was far too sweet for me, so I think I'd like to play with it a little and use a pastry crust and less melted marshmallow in the topping. The filling is delicious. I scorched my first pot of marshmallows, by the way; it's best to get the egg whites going, and then stand at the stove stirring constantly because those suckers melt fast! I baked the pie for about half an hour at 400, but the crust was getting pretty dark, so I reduced the temp to 350 and probably baked it about an hour total. I filled a piping bag with about a third of the meringue, spread the rest on the still-warm pie, and then piped marshmallowy blobs around the edge. I baked the meringue topping at 350, too, for about 15 minutes. Oh, I'd also like to try using one egg and two egg yolks in the pie filling, because I like it when recipes use up all parts of the egg. I'll make this again, with tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Outstanding. Be careful not to overbeat the meringue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
5 stars for the pie itself if it were made in a regular crust. 1 star for the meringue topping. Sorry. Unless you are going to serve this immediately, the meringue with the marshmallows in it is just too chewy and sticky. Mine split also. Will try the pie on a regular crust with a regular meringue topping to see if I have any better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great recipe just as it is. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was the best sweet potato pie I've ever made or tasted. This was a hit with everyone in the family. It was sweet though, but I have a major sweet tooth. I will definetly make again. I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nelson Tamayo
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I usually stick with the highly reviewed recipes to be safe but I went ahead and gave this one a try. I'm glad I did! This is my favorite way to eat sweet potatoes. It's nice and sweet, almost like a sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelson Tamayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was great!! I have not ever made sweet potato pie before and its great to know how now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I tried only the topping, and put it on a different sweet potato pie recipe. It was delicious--very light and fluffy, and toasted to a gorgeous light brown. It was extremely sweet though, so next time I'll cut back the sugar in the filling of the pie. My husband put this on his top 5 best pies list, even though it was the first sweet tato pie I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
this recipe was extra yummy and im a beginner baker!it was a hit at my Thanksgiving Dinner! Thnaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by austinasia baltazar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: West Carrollton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States