Sweet Potato Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Baker Beware. One reviewer wrote that it was too watery. I suspect she made the same mistake I did and thought the whipping cream was for a topping after baking. However, I realized (too late) that it's the "light whipping cream" that needs to be added with the ingredients. I'm going shopping for more ingredients and will give it another go. I'll review again upon successful completion. I'm sure it will be delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
hands down, the best sweet potato pie recipe I have ever tried...and I have tried many! Perfect texture and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Once again I've messed around with this recipe right from the start, so I have no idea how it would have come out in it's original form. The inclusion of the 2T lemon juice is worth 4 stars all by itself. Genius! My variation; 1 40oz can of Yams, no butter, a 12 oz can of no-fat evaporated milk instead of milk and whipping cream, 1/2 c brown sugar 1/4 c Splenda instead of white sugar, 1 T cinnamon, 1/2 t mace, 1/2 t nutmeg, 3/4 t cloves, 1 t ginger (or more of any or all of the foregoing, to taste, the desired outcome is a highly spiced gingerbread flavor). This is far, far better than any pumpkin pie although it doesn't have the dense texture for which I was originally looking. Next time I'll double the quantity of yams and add another egg, adjusting the sugar, lemon juice and spices accordingly aiming for a 2-pie yield. If you prefer a fluffier pie seek no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
My family loves this recipe so much, that it has become a "must have" during the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGALLOWAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mullins, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Elgin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I was kind of iffie about making this recipe for thanksgiving. no one when i was growing up ever really made sweet potato pie but i figured what the hell... why not. not even 20 minutes after it was first cut it was completely vanished. i would recommend this recipe for anyone who has never had sweet potato pie. its fast easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcohmemfy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
followed to the tee and it came out too watery for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
very yummy, but it makes 2 pies, so make sure you have 2 pie crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I really like this pie. The conversion from 2 cups of cooked mashed potato is more like 450 g. The pie shell should be uncooked although next time I will pre-cook at 170 c. before adding the pie mixture. I like my crust a bit more crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky's Kitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lavenderfieldsforever
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Absolutely love this pie! Very sweet potato tasting, nice and sweet. Superb with whip cream on top! My whole family loves this pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I became in charge of the pie, after my family had their first SW. POT. Pie 4 yrs. ago, and the place I got them went out of business this year! This pie is awesome! My brother said that if I hadn't told him that it didn't come from the same restaurant I had been getting it from, he never would have known! I didn't have the whipping cream, and added a heaping T of flour (for 2 pies--I doubled the recipe) when I saw water pooling in the batter. The lemon juice makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States