Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was by far the best Sweet Potatoe recipe. I made this for guests and we all raved about how you could taste the sweet potatoe without any spices to overpower the overall flavor.I did use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar as suggested in another review. This will become a family classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was so good that I was afraid of eating the whole thing. I doubled the recipe and took the 2nd pie to work the next day. My coworkers really enjoyed it. It was a bit too sweet.. so next time i'll use 3/4ths of the recommended sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlos
Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I doubled the recipe and added 2 T. of ground flaxmeal and substituted "SO Delicious" coconut milk for buttermilk. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger spices:) Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeilaniMassage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by efuagwen
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Quite tasty:) Not something i'd want to have every meal but every once in a while:)my 1st ever sweet potato pie..my hubbys only complaint was that he wasnt sure he could put ketchup on a pie and he always likes ketchup with sweet potatos(which is the weirdest combo in my mind...)haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by efuagwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This pie is out of this world! I like that it specifies the amount of sweet potato to add and that it includes little butter. I made some changes though. I tasted the batter as I made it and I decided to reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. It was just right. I also eliminated the baking soda because I find that it adds an unpleasant flavour to dishes. Lastly, I added 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken the mixture - I had left the sweet potatoes to cool in a pot of water, and although I squeezed excess water from them, the flesh was still moist. So if you boil your sweet potatoes, I recommend that you remove them from the pot as soon as they're tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by _-*Rasta Pasta*-_
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Been lookin' to find the best sweet tater pie recipe and I think this ones about right so long as you add in the appropriate spices. How can it not have spices besides vanilla? C'mon now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by _-*Rasta Pasta*-_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Liked it. Did some improv because that's how I cook. Improv included using canned yams, drained, rather than fresh. That worked out great. Rather than 1c sugar, I used a reduction of the drained liquid from the canned yams...not as good as I'd hoped--needed more sweetness. I think next time I would add some orange juice and/or brown sugar to it prior to reduction. Didn't have buttermilk so I used plain yogurt--no problems there. The final variation was to separate the eggs and beat the whites and fold in. That worked well, though I beat them maybe a little too stiffly so that they didn't fold in completely. Nobody complained. In fact, most everybody in the family wanted more. So, even with variance that I thought could have been improved, it still worked out great, and still pretty low-cal for a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Won't ever make a sweet potato pie any other way THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH only thing I added was 1/4 nutmeg but kept everything else the same. VERY easy to follow! Mistake on the previous review this reciepe deserves 10 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jerry
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Substituted Splenda for sugar. Added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp ginger. Cut into 10 slices - 153 calories per slice. Used 15.0 oz of sweet potatoes which may be slightly less than the 2 cups. Used Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
i absolutely LOVE this recipe. pumpkin pie is my favorite pie and this is so similiar! i will definetly make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States