Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is the BEST sweet potato pie I have ever made and is now the ONLY recipe I will use. My husband, stepson, and friends LOVED it! It baked perfectly; it wasn't runny; the crust baked perfectly with the pie. I used Pet Ritz deep pie shells. The only change I made was the sugar. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and only a half cup instead of a full cup. Since I did not have any buttermilk I used skim milk mixed with lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Looking forward to making this again this year. Made it last year and remembered thinking it tasted very close to the way my mom made back home in N.C. I did add brown sugar and cinnamon and nutmeg as others suggested, and left out the salt. Thanks for sharing, especially since most pies in Georgia are pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Quick and easy, best sweet potato pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made this pie for Thanksgiving, and it was amazing! Super yum! I baked my sweet potatoes. Then put them through a food mill to get rid of all the "fiberous" parts of the potato. It made for a much creamier pie. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
AMAZING!!!!Love it and will always make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This is really good! I have made it twice--the first time I didn't have quite enough sweet potato; the second time I had too much... Rather than resort to weights and calculators I simply guessed (and carelessly!) at how much to adjust the other ingredients--It still came out great, both times. You know you have a good, easy recipe when you can mess it up a bit and it still works! The spices are necessary in my opinion; I skimped on them somewhat the second time and it just seemed a little too plain for everyone, even my mom who is usually very sensitive to spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
SOO good! I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar and I think it could have used less. Maybe 3/4 cup total. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
We loved this! I used 2 C mashed canned sweet potatoes, 2 T smart balance, 1/2 C soy milk (to keep it non-dairy) and 1 t lemon juice. I also used a graham cracker crust and egg whites instead of whole eggs. Next time, I think I will try cutting back on the sugar and make a topping of cornflake crumbs and brown sugar. Thanks Kimberly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My husband said don't lose this recipe. It is the best ever. It has consistency, not smooth like pumpkin pie. Very rich. I used a pie crust cutter instead of potato masher...it was easier. Added 1/8 cup molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Great recipe! The pie turned out delicious! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger to the mix because I've gotta have that spicy smell when I bake a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States