Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Great recipe. I am diabetic and was searching for a lower fat but great tasting way to eat more sweet potatoes. This buttermilk recipe is the best I have found. I added one tsp of Pumpkin Pie Spice and put the chopped pecans on the floor of the pie crust before putting the filling in. I covered the entire edge of the pie crust so it didn't get burned during the 70 minute cooking time and substituted Splenda for the white sugar. Fantastic results and the best low fat sweet potato pie I have found. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
The best sweet potato pie ever.. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg, I also used 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 cup of white sugar.. The buttermilk did something amazing to this pie, yummy!! Thanks Kimberly!! =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovePink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was very easy and very tasty. Everyone enjoyed it and it was especially good using a homemade crust from an old cookbook. Nice change from the standard pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I love this recipe. My fiancee is not a big fan of sweet potato pie, but she will eat this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is one of the best sweet potato pies that i have ever tasted. I was kind of worried at first because some of the ingredients were not things that my grandmother use. But after tasting the final product my grandmother better watchout. I did add the cinnimen and nutmeg because of personal taste, but either way it goes this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myeisha Dhillon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe. I added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg for spice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This pie was excellent! Easy to prep, mix-up and bake. I did change a couple of things just to suit our family. I cut the sugar to 1/4 c and added allspice, nutmeg and cloves about 1/4 t each. This pie turned out light in flavor and set perfectly (did not separate from the shell or turn watery). This was my first try at Sweet Potato Pie and I am very glad I selected this recipe. I do believe as others have said that the buttermilk makes the difference in the creamy texture. Will DEFINATELY be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Even better than Mom's - and that NEVER happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Amazing!! Followed the recipe exactly as written. Is sweet, but loved it. My first time to make Sweet Potato Pie, and got tons of compliments, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
YUM!!!! BUTTER MILK!!! YEAH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States