Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
i made this recipe for thanksgiving to try something different. i have another recipe that i'd used for years that was good. it was sooooo good. i did add 1 t. of pumpkin pie spice as others suggested. it was the perfect amount of spice. i also roasted my sweet potatoes, as another had suggested. it was so creamy and smooth. i was really excited. my family has asked me to make it again for christmas. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very good recipe for left over sweet potatoes or yams. I used yams and added ground cloves, fresh ground nutmeg, and a little allspice. The buttermilk gave it a nice tartness and I used less butter than stated for no other reason than to cut the fat in it. I too added Splenda vs. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayson01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This pie tasted so amazing! After trying this pie, I don't think I'll ever make another pumpkin pie. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This recipe is wonderful. I made this for Thanksgiving and the taste is awesome. I have never made a sweet potato pie without any spices and i was kind of unsure, but i am so glad that i used this recipe. I think that the spices was taking over the sweet potatoes. This is my new way of making it. Thank you Kimberly, for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana82
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
First time making and it was excellent! I added some pumpkin spice and nutmeg. I also took the advice of someone on here and did half brown sugar half regular sugar. Very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Absolutely Delicious- followed recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I did this same recipe 2 years in a row and my family LOVES IT!!!! I add a little nutmeg and cinnamon but the original recipe is AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Great recipe. I am diabetic and was searching for a lower fat but great tasting way to eat more sweet potatoes. This buttermilk recipe is the best I have found. I added one tsp of Pumpkin Pie Spice and put the chopped pecans on the floor of the pie crust before putting the filling in. I covered the entire edge of the pie crust so it didn't get burned during the 70 minute cooking time and substituted Splenda for the white sugar. Fantastic results and the best low fat sweet potato pie I have found. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
The best sweet potato pie ever.. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg, I also used 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 cup of white sugar.. The buttermilk did something amazing to this pie, yummy!! Thanks Kimberly!! =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovePink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was very easy and very tasty. Everyone enjoyed it and it was especially good using a homemade crust from an old cookbook. Nice change from the standard pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States