Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was pretty great as is, but it made way more filling than my pie shell could hold? I guess maybe I should've used a deeper pie plate but I ended up making a couple of tarts too with what crust dough I had left -- I still had to pour some of the filling out! Man. I suspect this would probably fill two relatively shallow pies or like three full sized tart pans. So just maybe keep that in mind when you're making preparations for crust. Still, super delicious, especially with some vanilla ice cream. Great way to use up mashed sweet potato! (I suspect the sweet potato I used may have already had some butter or somesuch mashed into it, so maybe that contributed to my abundance of filling? Either way it baked up fine, we just had too much of it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Made this for the first time tonight. Awesome..and I'm not easily impressed! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I'd never eaten or made sweet potato pie before, and was looking for a different way to use up some surplus sweet potatoes. What a great recipe! Just sweet enough, and the perfect consistency. I loved it. I did add one half teaspoon of cinnamon, which didn't overpower the sweet potato flavor at all. Tastes best after it's been cooled to room temp or slightly chillier, and settled for a day. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiFink
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made it exactly as the recipe called for except I just added all ingredients, one by one, to the mixer. Whisked in the mixer until most of the lumps of potatoes were gone. Cook time was exactly as recipe stated - and I can't wait to find out how it tastes! Seems a keeper!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiFink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Wonderful recipe. Followed it but added about a teaspoon of lemon juice. Will surely make it again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Instead of buttermilk, I used soy egg nog...turned out amaaaazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I mistakenly left the butter out of the recipe. Once the pies were in the oven, I realized that I forgot to add the softened butter. The pie tasted and looked GREAT, as if nothing was missing! Easy way to save on calories, and not sacrifice taste or consistancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This pie was part of my Thanksgiving meal and it was DELICIOUS!! I had a slice for breakfast on the day after. I added all ingredients as noted and added the cinnamon and nutmeg to my taste buds and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
could you have used can milk or regular milk???????????????????? please say yes this is the first recipe i found and i really need it to work out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
In the process of making this pie now. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg to it. We will see how it turns out... Expecting greatness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States