Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Instead of buttermilk, I used soy egg nog...turned out amaaaazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I mistakenly left the butter out of the recipe. Once the pies were in the oven, I realized that I forgot to add the softened butter. The pie tasted and looked GREAT, as if nothing was missing! Easy way to save on calories, and not sacrifice taste or consistancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This pie was part of my Thanksgiving meal and it was DELICIOUS!! I had a slice for breakfast on the day after. I added all ingredients as noted and added the cinnamon and nutmeg to my taste buds and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
could you have used can milk or regular milk???????????????????? please say yes this is the first recipe i found and i really need it to work out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
In the process of making this pie now. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg to it. We will see how it turns out... Expecting greatness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Very good recipe. Just double all ingredients for two pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I make a lot of pies for my man, but had yet to make a sweet potato pie. He made the request for pie and I decided to try something new. After searching AR awhile I came across this recipe... Oh. My. God. It was perfect. Mine cooled overnight, but it was set up when I pulled it out of the oven! For the most part, I followed the directions. There's a couple minor tweaks I made though: 1. To cook my sweet potatoes, I simply stabbed them and baked them in the microwave. Easiest, fastest, and to me best way to cook em up. 2. I cut the bake time from 70 minutes to just 60 minutes. The top of my pie was a dark orange/brown. 3. To spice the pie (since the recipe leaves that up to you) I used three spices (in order from most amount, to least amount): cinnamon, nutmeg, & ginger. I only use approx. 1/4 teaspoon of ginger, and just went up from there. It all depends on your taste! I was super nervous making the pie, my 'mashed' sweet potatoes didn't look anything like they should, they were clumpy. But, it baked up very well and we like a little texture to our pie. If you want it smooth I'd recommend using a hand mixer with the buttermilk to smooth it out! Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tesherra
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Love it! Added a half of a capful of rum extract, soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I loved it for a basic guide i did add all spice, nutmeg, cinnamon, and rum to the recipe turned out great took a little longer to cook but yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and really no taste. Needs some type of spice for flavor. Very disappointed as the reviews state otherwise. Will try another sweet potato pie recipe as this truly lacks flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States