Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This pie is fantastic. I made no exceptions to the recipe - using real butter and real buttermilk. I did, however add 1 tsp. of pumpkin pie seasoning. My husband, brother in law, and father in law all three loved it, and they were raised down south on grandma's recipe - very hard to impress! Everyone else raved too, and I ended up having to make more! It was not just my first sucessful sweet potato pie, it was the first time to impress my father in law! Thanks for this flawless recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I modified this a little. Used caned yams, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice and half white sugar and half brown. Because it takes while to cook I also lined the crust with aluminum foil and removed it 10 minutes prior. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I made this pie with Splenda, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I followed the recipe to a "T"...snuck a bite of the filling and couldn't wait to try it cooked! My husband said this is the best sweet potato pie he has ever had and I have to agree. I baked two of these pies for a dinner we are having at our church for boys from a boys home...I bet the boys will feel as if they are having some of their mom's cooking. They won't be home for the holidays but my prayer is that they will feel like home came to them. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
OH MY GOD? THIS IS THE BEST SWEET POTATO PIE YOU WILL EVER PUT IN YOUR MOUTH. EVEN MY SON WHO WILL NOT EAT SWEET POTATOES, COULD NOT GET ENOUGH OF IT. I DID THOUGH ADD A LITTLE PUMPKIN PIE SPICE(BUT JUST A LITTLE) OTHER THAN THAT DO NOT CHANGE A THING. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This recipe is exceptional! I tripled the recipe for a luncheon at work and everyone loved the results. My modifications to the recipe: I used almond extract in place of the vanilla, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, mixed 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar, & 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. I will make this recipe again and again. THANKS for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
I found this recipe last night, tried it today at work and everyone loved it. Now I will prepare it for 64 for our Black History Meal at work. It was easy, and the cooking time was accurate. The flavor as written was terrific and I also added nutmeg and cinnamon to one pie and they loved that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I have made this twice in 1 week. Everyone loved it. Super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This is exactly what I was looking for. I changed it somewhat to use 6 tart shells I had, and the recipe amount was perfectly fitting. Also, since I don't have white sugar in the house used approx. 1/4 cup brown sugar. A wonderful result...the buttermilk seems to add custard-like texture and a bit of tang without heaviness given by cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This was a wonderful pie. I followed the directions exactly. I especially like sweet Potato pie without all the spices in it, and this one was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States