Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This is really good! I have made it twice--the first time I didn't have quite enough sweet potato; the second time I had too much... Rather than resort to weights and calculators I simply guessed (and carelessly!) at how much to adjust the other ingredients--It still came out great, both times. You know you have a good, easy recipe when you can mess it up a bit and it still works! The spices are necessary in my opinion; I skimped on them somewhat the second time and it just seemed a little too plain for everyone, even my mom who is usually very sensitive to spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
SOO good! I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar and I think it could have used less. Maybe 3/4 cup total. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
We loved this! I used 2 C mashed canned sweet potatoes, 2 T smart balance, 1/2 C soy milk (to keep it non-dairy) and 1 t lemon juice. I also used a graham cracker crust and egg whites instead of whole eggs. Next time, I think I will try cutting back on the sugar and make a topping of cornflake crumbs and brown sugar. Thanks Kimberly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My husband said don't lose this recipe. It is the best ever. It has consistency, not smooth like pumpkin pie. Very rich. I used a pie crust cutter instead of potato masher...it was easier. Added 1/8 cup molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Great recipe! The pie turned out delicious! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger to the mix because I've gotta have that spicy smell when I bake a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This pie was easy to make and turned out very well. Everyone liked it for Thanksgiving. Only change made was adding a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Outstanding. We'll have this instead of pumpkin pie for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Delicious! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
this is the sweet potato pie recipe I have always used. The buttermilk is the key to this recipe. I've tried other recipes that call for milk or evaporated milk and it's just not as good. I always add a little nutmeg and cinnamon and I use only 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. This is always on our table at Thanksgiving and Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Good recipe - not too sweet. I added 1/2 cup orange juice to give it a little "kick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States