Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Liked it. Did some improv because that's how I cook. Improv included using canned yams, drained, rather than fresh. That worked out great. Rather than 1c sugar, I used a reduction of the drained liquid from the canned yams...not as good as I'd hoped--needed more sweetness. I think next time I would add some orange juice and/or brown sugar to it prior to reduction. Didn't have buttermilk so I used plain yogurt--no problems there. The final variation was to separate the eggs and beat the whites and fold in. That worked well, though I beat them maybe a little too stiffly so that they didn't fold in completely. Nobody complained. In fact, most everybody in the family wanted more. So, even with variance that I thought could have been improved, it still worked out great, and still pretty low-cal for a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Won't ever make a sweet potato pie any other way THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH only thing I added was 1/4 nutmeg but kept everything else the same. VERY easy to follow! Mistake on the previous review this reciepe deserves 10 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jerry
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Substituted Splenda for sugar. Added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp ginger. Cut into 10 slices - 153 calories per slice. Used 15.0 oz of sweet potatoes which may be slightly less than the 2 cups. Used Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
i absolutely LOVE this recipe. pumpkin pie is my favorite pie and this is so similiar! i will definetly make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is the BEST sweet potato pie I have ever made and is now the ONLY recipe I will use. My husband, stepson, and friends LOVED it! It baked perfectly; it wasn't runny; the crust baked perfectly with the pie. I used Pet Ritz deep pie shells. The only change I made was the sugar. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and only a half cup instead of a full cup. Since I did not have any buttermilk I used skim milk mixed with lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Looking forward to making this again this year. Made it last year and remembered thinking it tasted very close to the way my mom made back home in N.C. I did add brown sugar and cinnamon and nutmeg as others suggested, and left out the salt. Thanks for sharing, especially since most pies in Georgia are pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Quick and easy, best sweet potato pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made this pie for Thanksgiving, and it was amazing! Super yum! I baked my sweet potatoes. Then put them through a food mill to get rid of all the "fiberous" parts of the potato. It made for a much creamier pie. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
AMAZING!!!!Love it and will always make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This is really good! I have made it twice--the first time I didn't have quite enough sweet potato; the second time I had too much... Rather than resort to weights and calculators I simply guessed (and carelessly!) at how much to adjust the other ingredients--It still came out great, both times. You know you have a good, easy recipe when you can mess it up a bit and it still works! The spices are necessary in my opinion; I skimped on them somewhat the second time and it just seemed a little too plain for everyone, even my mom who is usually very sensitive to spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States