Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My first time baking AND eating a sweet potato pie. Grated I have nothing to compare it with but this was nonetheless afantastic pie. Creamy and sweet and overall pure bliss !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was by far the best Sweet Potatoe recipe. I made this for guests and we all raved about how you could taste the sweet potatoe without any spices to overpower the overall flavor.I did use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar as suggested in another review. This will become a family classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was so good that I was afraid of eating the whole thing. I doubled the recipe and took the 2nd pie to work the next day. My coworkers really enjoyed it. It was a bit too sweet.. so next time i'll use 3/4ths of the recommended sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlos
Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I doubled the recipe and added 2 T. of ground flaxmeal and substituted "SO Delicious" coconut milk for buttermilk. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger spices:) Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeilaniMassage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by efuagwen
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Quite tasty:) Not something i'd want to have every meal but every once in a while:)my 1st ever sweet potato pie..my hubbys only complaint was that he wasnt sure he could put ketchup on a pie and he always likes ketchup with sweet potatos(which is the weirdest combo in my mind...)haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by efuagwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This pie is out of this world! I like that it specifies the amount of sweet potato to add and that it includes little butter. I made some changes though. I tasted the batter as I made it and I decided to reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. It was just right. I also eliminated the baking soda because I find that it adds an unpleasant flavour to dishes. Lastly, I added 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken the mixture - I had left the sweet potatoes to cool in a pot of water, and although I squeezed excess water from them, the flesh was still moist. So if you boil your sweet potatoes, I recommend that you remove them from the pot as soon as they're tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by _-*Rasta Pasta*-_
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Been lookin' to find the best sweet tater pie recipe and I think this ones about right so long as you add in the appropriate spices. How can it not have spices besides vanilla? C'mon now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by _-*Rasta Pasta*-_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Liked it. Did some improv because that's how I cook. Improv included using canned yams, drained, rather than fresh. That worked out great. Rather than 1c sugar, I used a reduction of the drained liquid from the canned yams...not as good as I'd hoped--needed more sweetness. I think next time I would add some orange juice and/or brown sugar to it prior to reduction. Didn't have buttermilk so I used plain yogurt--no problems there. The final variation was to separate the eggs and beat the whites and fold in. That worked well, though I beat them maybe a little too stiffly so that they didn't fold in completely. Nobody complained. In fact, most everybody in the family wanted more. So, even with variance that I thought could have been improved, it still worked out great, and still pretty low-cal for a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Won't ever make a sweet potato pie any other way THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH only thing I added was 1/4 nutmeg but kept everything else the same. VERY easy to follow! Mistake on the previous review this reciepe deserves 10 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jerry
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Substituted Splenda for sugar. Added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp ginger. Cut into 10 slices - 153 calories per slice. Used 15.0 oz of sweet potatoes which may be slightly less than the 2 cups. Used Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States