Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was the first time I have ever tasted or made sweet potato pie and it was tasty. I made these in 3/4 cup ramekins for individual servings and cut the recipe in half. The texture was very creamy and the outside edges were chewy. I added some spices to the pie. Instead of 1/2 cup sugar I only added 1/3 cup sugar to balance the sweetness of the graham cracker crust. I used a graham cracker crust, made from homemade graham crackers, and it was fabulous. Next time I will try it with a traditional pie crust. I will be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This recipe is IT. I have made it several times as written: use fresh potatoes, it makes the difference. It is so good, the pie I made for a friend never made it to the rest of the family after their son discovered it one night. My only personal touches are pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger and Mexican vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I have never tasted sweet potato pie. I just happened upon this recipe & decided to try it. Boy, am I glad I did. There were some changes made by other reviewers but I thought it would be nice to see what the original recipe tasted like. It is so good that I couldn't wait to finish breakfast this morning. That pie was calling to me. So, what harm is it to have a little dessert after breakfast? Tonight, we're going to fix dinner for my 90 year old mom. She use to talk about sweet potato pie and how good it was. I can't wait for her to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
this pie was excellent! i love how you don't need a lot of butter for this one! i made one with the original recipe and one altered: i used 1/2 c of both white and brown sugar,added 1/2 tsp of both cinnamon and nutmeg. both came out great served with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
A co-worker gave me a HUGE sweet potato from her garden that I used to make this delicious pie. I added a tiny bit of nutmeg but I honestly don't think the pie needs any spice to be one of the best I've tasted. I did use 1/2 cup brown sugar as I love anything that has brown sugar in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I add some all spice and fresh nutmeg to this recipe it is very good and i enjoy it very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This is the best! I used Splenda and one extra egg yolk for creaminess. Can't wait to do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My mother and I do not particularly care for pumpkin pie and we wanted to find and alternative for Thanksgiving. Our whole family likes sweet potatoes (we usually bake them and eat them like baked potatoes), so we thought we'd give this a try. This pie was an overwhelming success!!!! It is nice and creamy and quite delicious - we've found a new family tradition. Thank you!!! I just wanted to add that I made one of the these pies to take to a work potluck - and I am now being told that I am the "official" sweet potato pie maker for our potlucks! One of my co-workers liked it so much that she has had me make one for her family the last 2 Thanksgivings (and she comes from a true southern family - not too bad for a northern girl, I must say!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Vincent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I liked it and have been enjoying it this week, but I would like to know how to make the mixture a bit more custard like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Fantastic. Makes a change from pumpkin pie. I added some cinnamon, ginger and ground cloves. Served with a spoonfull of sweetened whipped cream with a drop of vanilla in it. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States