Sweet Potato Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Yummy, yummy, yummy! Very hard to go wrong with these simple instructions. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon for additional spice. Also, adjusted the temperature down to 325 after 40 minutes to keep the crust from getting too dark! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I doubled this recipe and made three REALLY full pies, and had a little filling left over. I assumed, like most pie recipes, this would not make full pies, I was wrong, this recipe produces generously filled pies! Other than that, I BAKED the potatoes instead of boiling them (I peeled the whole baked potatoes after they had cooled halfway), I added a few dashes of cinnimon and a dash of ginger, plus about an extra 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and reduced the sugar (I used 3 cups of sugar for a DOUBLED recipe). I wish I would have reduced the eggs, this turned out to be much fluffier than I wanted. I wanted a denser, more custard-like pie (like pumpkin pie), and this recipe made a light, fluffy pie. It is a good basic recipe though, and I feel I can work with it until I arrive at the type of pie I want, by reducing the eggs, using half brown sugar next time (in the same reduced amount), and by adding more spices, maybe even some allspice. I also cooked the three pies at 325 degrees for one hour on the second oven rack down from the top (so the pies were closer to the top of the oven), and they came out beautiful, the crust did not get too dark, and they were lightly browned on top, just like I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phaewryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Vermont, USA
Living In: Chester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I added more milk and some cinnamon and it came out just like my mom's! Also... If you run your potatoes through a ricer you won't get any lumps or strings in your pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was my first time making a sweet potato pie. It was fabulous. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Also didn't wait for potatoes to cool and blended it in the blender. I think this will be a family favorite. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nanacook
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was one of the easiest pies i have ever made. As you can see from my pic it turned out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These pie recipes are basic to mine, which wash handed down from my mother. However, she always (as I do) felt that eggs made the greatest difference in whether the filling was tight or creamy and smooth. So I would use more eggs than is asked for in these recipes particularly if baking in large quanties per pie. I average 8 - 10 or pies at each baking, and can use nearly a dozen eggs or more in my batch of mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was my VERY first time making a sweet potato pie and I sure am proud of myself. Thanks to the person who submitted this recipe. I did alter it a bit but it came out PERFECT!!! I added lemon juice, nutmeg and cinnamon. It reminds me of my grandmothers good Southern Sweet Potato Pie. No holiday is complete without it. This was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by charmed9899
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Great Pie I added the 1/2 tsp of cinnamon as suggested and I simply Loved it so did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charmed9899

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This pie reminds me of my fathers recipe. It was even better. Who knew something so simple could taste so good. All my friens at work loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
I made two pies and only had one piece, emailed it to all my friends. thanks it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States