Sweet Potato Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Wonderful recipe, I am from the south and was very nervous about fixing this particular pie since my mom has done it for years! It was a big hit and everyone loved it. I love this website, it has changed my attitude towards cooking. If you havent joined you are missing out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this pie 3 Thanksgiving ago and I been hooked since. I'll sometimes add 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. I also in the past have reduced the white sugar to 2 cups instead of 2 1/2 cups. Either way, both recipes modified or not taste delicious! Don't worry on doubling the recipe. This fills 3 pie shells (depending how large sweet potatoes you buy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aamerrill82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was a delicious pie but it does not need all that sugar. Sweet potatos are already sweet. I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made this for my first Christmas (just passed) with my new in-laws. My husband had never had sweet potato pie and was hesitant to try it, but once he did he loved it. My new mother and father-in-law each had a piece and they really loved it! I like the fact that it's not as heavy as a pumpkin pie; my mother-in-law had never had it either and said it had a "good flavour". It does make two really full pies and I had filling left over. I saved it to make some tarts with, so there's no waste. (BTW: My dogs LOVE sweet potatos and one was trying to eat the peels as I made these pies! So, I boiled two extra potatos and mashed them with their skins on to feed to the dogs. I give them a spoonful in their kibble. They just inhale it! Another way I've cooked sweet potatos for them is to cut them up and boil them in chicken broth with cut up cabbage. They just go crazy for it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIMI6A
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I have been making this recipe for several years. I reduced the sugar to one cup and I substituted the nutmeg for cinnamon. My pie is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIMI6A
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
BEST ONE YET!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
The pie baked well it firmed up when I cut into the pie it didn't run. I added cinnamon 1/2 tsp. The next time I make this pie maybe I use less milk. I served the pie warm with Vanilla Ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I'm now known as the best pie maker thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was my first time making a sweet potatoe pie since my mom has been gone. I only made one in the year of 2008 for Thanksgiving and in that same year right before Christmas my mom passed away. So for me trying out this recipe for the first time, I got so many good ratings. My co-workers want me to bake one for them. This was truly a quick and easy recipe.. "THE PIE WAS SOOOO GOOD"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made three pies and a custard by doubling the recipe and cooking the forth in a glass dish for my gluten free friends. My boss said it was the most delicious pie he had ever eaten and my friend said she'd kill me if I didn't give her the recipe. My rating is a four star because of the evaporated milk. I could taste it with/over the sweet potatoes. It added a rich/caramelly touch which I thought was really nice but detracted from the sweet potatoes. I would have given it three stars, as a good recipe, but the rave reviews pushed it up. For alterations, I did half white, half brown sugar and topped one with marshmallow. I also used my own spice blend and upped the spices, as milk products mute the flavour of pumpkin pie spice. I also used orange sweet potatoes, but I'm keen to try it with purple, as I have had good success with purple candied yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States