Sweet Potato Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Imade three of these pies for thanksgiving and it was awesome! i did add more sugar and a little bit more nutmeg but overall it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAWNYA25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Easy recipe. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was great! I added the cinnamon and a little more sugar to the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I love sweet potato pie and this is a keeper. I added some cinnamon to the batch. I served it with some French Vanilla Ice Cream. MMM. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel Williams-Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Oxon Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This pie is very good. I added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and lemon juice for a little extra flavor. Also, I used a Marie Callender pie crust, excellent. This recipe is a keeper. It was sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I doubled this recipe and made three REALLY full pies, and had a little filling left over. I assumed, like most pie recipes, this would not make full pies, I was wrong, this recipe produces generously filled pies! Other than that, I BAKED the potatoes instead of boiling them (I peeled the whole baked potatoes after they had cooled halfway), I added a few dashes of cinnimon and a dash of ginger, plus about an extra 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and reduced the sugar (I used 3 cups of sugar for a DOUBLED recipe). I wish I would have reduced the eggs, this turned out to be much fluffier than I wanted. I wanted a denser, more custard-like pie (like pumpkin pie), and this recipe made a light, fluffy pie. It is a good basic recipe though, and I feel I can work with it until I arrive at the type of pie I want, by reducing the eggs, using half brown sugar next time (in the same reduced amount), and by adding more spices, maybe even some allspice. I also cooked the three pies at 325 degrees for one hour on the second oven rack down from the top (so the pies were closer to the top of the oven), and they came out beautiful, the crust did not get too dark, and they were lightly browned on top, just like I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEETHING

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
If you like pumpkin pie, you will love this recipe. This is by far the best and easiest sweet potato pie. This is the 2nd year that I have made this...and it is quickly turning into a family tradition. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and a 1/4 tsp of ground cloves....Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I am a eatin' sweet potato gal and let me tell you, this is good. Use this recipe and you will be happy, your friends will be happy and everybody will be thankful. Just add a dollop of vanilla icecream or whip cream and life will be great for a moment!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is very good. My guest loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
this was my first sweet potato pie and it turned out very good! this recipe is awesome and i'll be using it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Outstanding recipe! Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have been making these pies and trying to get them perfected for 20 years now...Your recipe was extraordinary - thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States