Sweet Potato Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
The first time I tried this recipe I made three pies at one time. I was nervous because it was last year Thanksgiving and this was the only dessert. It turned out PERFECT! Everybody didn't believe that I had made these pies. This recipe was easy and I can't see how anyone could go wrong! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I only had condensed milk in my kitchen so I used that instead and boy did it turn out sweet. If I were to do this again, I would definitely use the evaporated milk and cut the white sugar in half, and add a bit of brown sugar. In general, it was very good but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I had to make 4 sweet potato pies and had never made them before. Following this recipe was so easy and they came out just beautiful! I reduced the sugar to 2 cups. I followed the recipe on everything else. Everyone loved them. I'll use this one again and again. THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Way too sweet! This took away from the spices. Next time I will cut sugar in half. Also too many eggs, it came out airy and fluffy. Overall this was like eating spice cotton candy (not quite but almost)I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon as suggested but next time it will omit the cinnamon, use half sugar and 2 eggs. This recipe has potential but you must tweek it. UPDATE: After making it the first time as the recipe stated, I still believe it was too sweet, however my husband loved it this way. When I wrote this rating I ate a piece right after it came out of the oven. But the next day after it had time to settle, it wasn't as fluffy and airy. I made it a second time with less sugar about 2 cups and 3 eggs, 1/4th cinnamon and evaporated milk and it was PERFECT. When it has time to settle its wonderful!! So I take back what I said and give it 5 stars with some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
used evaporated milk instead of condensed. Used pumpkin pie spice instead of nutmeg (didn't have nutmeg on hand). Had to bake for an additional 15 minutes, because pie wasn't fully baked. Only complaint is that pie turned out way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I found this recipe easy to follow, especially for a total NOVICE like myself, and I was enjoying my own pies. It's hard to create a favorite so far away from home, but I did it all by myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was my first time making this pie yesterday, and my Hubby LOVED it!! He was really impressed by the melt in your mouth make you wanna slap your momma kind of taste, I also invited my friend over to try it and she insisted on taking one home!! I will make this for Holiday meals in the future! thank you so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This pie is divine. I have been known to eat 4 slices in a row. I halved the sugar quantity, and used half white and half dark brown sugar, and it was still more than sweet enough. That was the only alteration I made, and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was my first time baking a pie and it was GREAT! I am not big on pies but I could not resist this one. My son loves sweet potatoe pie and said that this pie was "fire".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Just like my grandmother's!! As a true Southern woman I tend to stay away from the cinnamon to keep it from tasting like a pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Ibrahim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States