Sweet Potato Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
Excellent pie. Very dessert like and rich. The pecan topping adds a great touch. It was my first sweet potato pie and I was pleasantly surprised at how it turned out. Quite easy to make. Had to bring the leftovers to work so I didn't eat the whole thing. Will make this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This recipe is quick and easy. The only thing is, if you are using regular sized pie crusts, this recipe makes two pies; if you use the deep dish pie crust, it makes one. The kids loved it and the pecans make it special! AND, although it has the Eagle Brand Milk, it is NOT overly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
My husband is an avid sweet potato pie lover and he absolutely loved it. I've made it twice so far. I do not use the topping, so I cook it at 350 for 45-50 minutes straight. The condensed milk really works. I put the sweet potatoes in a covered casserole with some water in the microwave for 10 minutes and they've been perfect everytime. I use a fork to poke holes in the sweet potatoes for better cooking. Thanks for the recipe. Real easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
Dear Cindy B. Your recipe for Sweet Potato Pie IV was simply marvelous. I enjoyed it tremdously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
great pie!thanks for sharing, I really didn't know you could make a pie with sweet potatoes, it's not a well-known vegetable in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I've been eating sweet potato pies all my life during the holiday seasons. This recipe is really good. I've made it twice. Once for Thanksgiving without the topping and then for Christmas with the topping. The topping is well worth the minimal effort involved. This is now my favorite Sweet Potato pie recipe. I can't imagine it being any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThaBigCheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I did not like this pie at all. The glaze tasted terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This recipe was pretty good. I prefer a little bite to my sweet potato pie; if you are the same I would recommend 2 t. lime juice instead of the orange zest and a teaspoon of ginger to pep up the sweet potato filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Everyone loved this recipe, even my vegetable-hating nephews who swore a "vegetable" pie couldn't taste good. They asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
My husband doesn't eat my pies...he ate this one. I added 2 egg whites to make it lighter and about 1/3 cup of dark rum. Heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States