Sweet Potato Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
SO. GOOD. I didn't have any orange zest and I subbed 2 tbsps of maple syrup because I had no corn syrup. Crunchy candied pecans and creamy fluffy filling, yum. Next time I'm going to try sprinkling a little sea salt on the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My man doesn't believe fruit should be cooked, so his mom always made him a sweet potato pie just for him. Tried this recipe last year (2 pies, 1 with topping, 1 without) His sisters fought over the last few slices (with topping). I added to the orange zest & put some in the topping too. Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Doubled the batch and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great, easy--this is now my go to recipe for a very good sweet potato pie. Used it in a mini form for a family gathering and they loved them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bc&hood
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Wow, no more plain old pumpkin pie for us. I used pancake syrup instead of corn syrup and maple flavoring (didn't have those items). Only had 1/2 cup pecans on hand and no oranges and it still turned out excellent. Definite keeper....and EASY. I did precook my pie shell a few minutes (be sure to poke lots of holes in it). Don't even think about omitting the extremely simple topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I served this pie today at a luncheon. Delicious! This recipe will now replace the pumpkin pie that I traditionally serve at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This pie was great! I brought it to our Labor Day weekend family picnic and brought home an empty pie plate. Everyone loved it. My sister even snagged the last two pieces to bring home to her father-in-law since he couldn't make it that day. I was nervous it might be too much of a fall desert for labor day, but I was wrong. It was perfect, but also perfect for Fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOHara87

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dexter, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have been making this pie for the past 3 years exactly as described and love it every time! Although it fills right up to the top after adding the topping, I always manage to fit this into a regular 9" pie crust. This makes a great breakfast when eaten cold as leftovers (if you have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Its a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States