Sweet Potato Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Its a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Sorry, this isn't what I was expecting. It was kinda good but too dense for me I'm used to a more airy,fluffy dough. I'll keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made it for Thanksgiving, and the sweet potato pie came out excellent. I think I used more than one teaspoon of orange zest. It added a very nice kicked to it! Also instead of dark corn syrup and maple extract that I didn't have, I just used maple syrup. My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I tried this recipe today. I altered it a bit. I added one ounce of Southern comfort to the filling and 1/2 ounce of Southern Comfort to the pecan topping. It was delicious. With the caloric value, would recommend chilling the pie and cutting it into finger sized slivers and adding a dollop of whipped cream. This makes it a healthier serving and allows you to have more the next day without blowing your "diet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I used a deep dish ready-made pie crust and it worked on the first attempt at making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
this is a YUMMY pie! definitely make sure you only use about 2 cups of potato (ie 1 very large potato) - the one i used nearly filled the (deep dish) crust to the top! the only bad thing about this recipe is that I ate WAY too big of a peice and now am uncomfortably full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was very good. We doubled the recipe but only had one can of condensed milk and it was plenty sweet. Good texture and good flavor. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was my first try making sweet potato pie. I found it to be easy and the pie was delicious. I would recommend it to all. everyone that ate it gave great compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe without the topping mirrors my grandmother's recipe for sweet potato pie. This rich creamy delicious pie sends me back to that kitchen window we used to peer into as kids in Gary, IN while we watched my grandmother set her pies out to air. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I made this sweet potato pie last night with our turkey dinner. I feel so foolish, my daughter told me it't a dessert and I usded it as a vegetable, but it was toooooo sweet. I only put a tiny bit of the condensed milk and not much sugar, but it was way too sweet for me. I may make it for my family on Thanksgiving for a different dessert. I was wondering, did any one else use this as a vegetable? Is it only a dessert?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States