Sweet Potato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Sometimes the simplest recipes are the best. I have made many a sweet potato pie and this one is going to replace any recipes I have used before. I did add 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of white sugar. But I plan on trying it with no sugar. And I think the best way to add the sweet potato is to bake it just like you would a regular baked potato with the skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREEPANTHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I didn't notice that there was no sugar in this! I used about twice as much spice - accidentally - and leftover mashed sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving dinner. I thought it was wonderful. I used a no-roll pie crust recipe that I found here, too. (didn't have any shortening in the house) I really liked this pie and will make it again. We ate it warm, with vanilla yogurt, for breakfast. This could become our Day-After-Thanksgiving breakfast tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I too am surprised anyone would blindly make this without adding sugar, although I'm not convinced that the ommission of sugar by Lisa was an accident. That said, I would never, ever use canned sweet potatoes to make this pie or any pie. Nor would I boil them. I bake mine to maximize the natural sweetness and flavor that sweet potatoes (actually Yams) are famous for. Yes, it's more of a hassle that way but if I was only after convenience then I'd buy a ready-made pie instead of making my own. I added the sugar amounts suggested by diab96 and also added more clove and less nutmeg than the recipe calls for. Not quite a complete swapping of the two amounts but about halfway inbetween that and what the recipe calls for. Sorry, no exact measurements. I tend to wing it and forgot to write down the precise amounts. I also added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract (real, not the fake stuff).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I wonder if she meant to use sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk? That would add the missing sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I think she forgot to put sugar down as an ingredient. I use 1/3 cup dark brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar and some lemon zest and it turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Quick, easy, delicious. This pie tastes like sweet potatoes, not corn syrup. Some people will find this too much of a contrast to their normal high-fructose diet. I found it perfectly lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
basic concept is good..I added 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup white sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Lisa H. must have forgotten the sugar ingredient, and I can't believe anyone would make this blindly without sugar then rate it poorly. Add 2/3 cups of sugar and 1/3 cup of brown sugar and it is one of the best and easiest sweet potato pie recipes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I didn't exactly like this. It didn't have any sugar in it and I could tell. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I have compared all 4 sweet potatoe pies nutritional value. I am looking for more of a side dish then a dessert. I think this may be the one. Less (no) sugar is best for us older adults watching our weight, but I hear your reviews about the abscence of sugar.....I want to taste the sweet potato not the sugar. Will let you know.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States