Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I have never made a sweet potato pie before but I wanted to make one for a special occasion. I expected to try several recipes to determine which one was best, but after the way this one turned out, there's no need to try anymore. I made it according to the recipe with two exceptions. (1) I agree with another reviewer that 3/8 cup of sugar must have been a misprint--never heard of 3/8 cup of anything. Eighth marks aren't even on my measuring cups. I decided to go with 3/4 cup of sugar. (2) I went to the beverage store for rum and they were closed, so I used 2 tsp. rum extract. Didn't know what in the world I would do with a bottle-minus-2-tablespoons of rum anyway. If you're not sure about the rum flavor, just leave it out because I know it would still be great. I may skip it next time. FYI, 2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes equals about 1 1/2 lbs. of raw sweet potatoes. If you have time, bake them rather than boiling or microwaving because the taste will be far superior. I too had slightly too much filling for the regular 9-inch pie crust, but not enough for a deep-dish. If you like sweet potato pie you will love this one. UPDATE: Made again with minor changes. Reduced rum extract to 1 tsp. and increased cinnamon and nutmeg to 1 1/2 tsp. This time I would have given it more than 5 stars if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very yummy! I added about an 1/8 cup of brown sugar to the 3/8 cup of white and used some pumpkin pie spice with a little added cinnamon. I think the rum really makes this recipe..gives depth to the flavor. I think adding a tablespoon or two to the mix may make for a firmer pie which I would have preferred. Best sweet potato pie I've made so far. Don't forget the reddi-whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
The best Sweet Potatoe Pie I've ever had! I haven't had many but still, it's really good! If we have rum in the house it's usually spiced rum so that is what I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe. My family always asks for it during holidays and get-to-gethers. I no longer make pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Great recipe! I made this with egg substitute and added 1/4 tsp of ground clove and 1/4 tsp of allspice with a pinch of ginger, and it's delicious, light, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I used this recipe on my husband's family who are very particular about their pie. It came away with rave reviews. I did not have a food processor so I used my blender and added the evsapoarated milk to let it blend. I also added vanilla extract and poured it into crusts. It looked like store bought!! Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was the first time that I made a pie EVER and this was soooo good!!! My mom even said that it was the best pie she had tasted. I did alter the recipe just a bit... I put about 2 cups of sugar per 4 cups of sweet potato. Also, just for a little extra flavor, I used coconut rum instead of regular rum and I added a little bit of vanilla extract. Talk about DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
PERFECT pie. Didn't change a thing except that I didn't have any rum. It was perfect and silky and just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is simply the best sweet potato pie I've ever had. Even my friend who swore nothing could be better than her mother's is now converted to this recipe. I followed it almost exactly, just a touch more spices, including a dash of ginger. This pie comes out at just the right balance of sweet and spiced. The rum gives it a nice little kick, and this comes from someone who doesn't like to drink alcohol at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Super yummy! I used fat free half & half instead of the evaporated milk. I also reduced the amount of sugar to suit my taste. Coupled with the Canola Oil Pie Crust from this site this felt like a healthful treat for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States