Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I have never made a sweet potato pie before but I wanted to make one for a special occasion. I expected to try several recipes to determine which one was best, but after the way this one turned out, there's no need to try anymore. I made it according to the recipe with two exceptions. (1) I agree with another reviewer that 3/8 cup of sugar must have been a misprint--never heard of 3/8 cup of anything. Eighth marks aren't even on my measuring cups. I decided to go with 3/4 cup of sugar. (2) I went to the beverage store for rum and they were closed, so I used 2 tsp. rum extract. Didn't know what in the world I would do with a bottle-minus-2-tablespoons of rum anyway. If you're not sure about the rum flavor, just leave it out because I know it would still be great. I may skip it next time. FYI, 2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes equals about 1 1/2 lbs. of raw sweet potatoes. If you have time, bake them rather than boiling or microwaving because the taste will be far superior. I too had slightly too much filling for the regular 9-inch pie crust, but not enough for a deep-dish. If you like sweet potato pie you will love this one. UPDATE: Made again with minor changes. Reduced rum extract to 1 tsp. and increased cinnamon and nutmeg to 1 1/2 tsp. This time I would have given it more than 5 stars if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very yummy! I added about an 1/8 cup of brown sugar to the 3/8 cup of white and used some pumpkin pie spice with a little added cinnamon. I think the rum really makes this recipe..gives depth to the flavor. I think adding a tablespoon or two to the mix may make for a firmer pie which I would have preferred. Best sweet potato pie I've made so far. Don't forget the reddi-whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
The best Sweet Potatoe Pie I've ever had! I haven't had many but still, it's really good! If we have rum in the house it's usually spiced rum so that is what I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe. My family always asks for it during holidays and get-to-gethers. I no longer make pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Great recipe! I made this with egg substitute and added 1/4 tsp of ground clove and 1/4 tsp of allspice with a pinch of ginger, and it's delicious, light, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I used this recipe on my husband's family who are very particular about their pie. It came away with rave reviews. I did not have a food processor so I used my blender and added the evsapoarated milk to let it blend. I also added vanilla extract and poured it into crusts. It looked like store bought!! Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was the first time that I made a pie EVER and this was soooo good!!! My mom even said that it was the best pie she had tasted. I did alter the recipe just a bit... I put about 2 cups of sugar per 4 cups of sweet potato. Also, just for a little extra flavor, I used coconut rum instead of regular rum and I added a little bit of vanilla extract. Talk about DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
PERFECT pie. Didn't change a thing except that I didn't have any rum. It was perfect and silky and just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is simply the best sweet potato pie I've ever had. Even my friend who swore nothing could be better than her mother's is now converted to this recipe. I followed it almost exactly, just a touch more spices, including a dash of ginger. This pie comes out at just the right balance of sweet and spiced. The rum gives it a nice little kick, and this comes from someone who doesn't like to drink alcohol at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Super yummy! I used fat free half & half instead of the evaporated milk. I also reduced the amount of sugar to suit my taste. Coupled with the Canola Oil Pie Crust from this site this felt like a healthful treat for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States