Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ollied
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ollied

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rosedale, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I mixed this in my blender, which yeilded a very professional even texture. With that said, this recipe needs something more, it's a tad bland. Next time, I'll add vanilla, more of the spices, and brown sugar since it could have been a bit sweeter, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is one of the best recipes I have ever tasted. It does need more sugar though. My in-laws were fighting over my pies and said they haven't had a sweet potato pie this good since my mother-in-law passed away in 2001. Great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I used 3 sweet potatos, and that made enough for 2 pies. My kids loved this! Even my husband, who doesn't usually like this type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made this one time for Thanksgiving dinner and it turned out so good that now I am responsible for it every year. My husband even requests it over his mother's. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
my family loves this pie. It is very simple to make too. I've even made a few up and froze them for a while then thawed and baked when we wanted a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was my first sweet potato pie and my family loved it! It was perfect! This recipe is definitely a keeper. My husband is a great cook and like this recipe exceptionally because it did not include flour. Great texture. This recipe can easily be adjusted to yield more than one pie at a time. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Visa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I have to agree with 1 other reviewer. This pie is not even close to my mom’s and honestly that’s not even the point. I knew no one would come close to her recipe, but man this is not even on the same planet. I haven’t put my finger on it yet, but there is something seriously missing in this pie. It doesn’t have enough flavor or spice. Something is missing! I won’t make this again, sorry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I have never made a sweet potato pie before but I wanted to make one for a special occasion. I expected to try several recipes to determine which one was best, but after the way this one turned out, there's no need to try anymore. I made it according to the recipe with two exceptions. (1) I agree with another reviewer that 3/8 cup of sugar must have been a misprint--never heard of 3/8 cup of anything. Eighth marks aren't even on my measuring cups. I decided to go with 3/4 cup of sugar. (2) I went to the beverage store for rum and they were closed, so I used 2 tsp. rum extract. Didn't know what in the world I would do with a bottle-minus-2-tablespoons of rum anyway. If you're not sure about the rum flavor, just leave it out because I know it would still be great. I may skip it next time. FYI, 2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes equals about 1 1/2 lbs. of raw sweet potatoes. If you have time, bake them rather than boiling or microwaving because the taste will be far superior. I too had slightly too much filling for the regular 9-inch pie crust, but not enough for a deep-dish. If you like sweet potato pie you will love this one. UPDATE: Made again with minor changes. Reduced rum extract to 1 tsp. and increased cinnamon and nutmeg to 1 1/2 tsp. This time I would have given it more than 5 stars if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very yummy! I added about an 1/8 cup of brown sugar to the 3/8 cup of white and used some pumpkin pie spice with a little added cinnamon. I think the rum really makes this recipe..gives depth to the flavor. I think adding a tablespoon or two to the mix may make for a firmer pie which I would have preferred. Best sweet potato pie I've made so far. Don't forget the reddi-whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States