Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I concur that the amount of sugar listed in the recipe seems too small. I upped the quantity to 2/3 cup of white sugar. Having said that, this is a remarkably easy recipe to fit in to even the time constraints of a full menu, resulting in a pie so delicious that battles ensued as to who will get third helpings. Strongly recommend to cooks of all skill levels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was my first time ever making a sweet potatoe pie and it was a hit. Quick and easy. Friends and family loved it. I made enough for 2 pies (I cooked 3 large size sweet potatoes.) Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I feel sort of bad giving this review to this recipe because clearly I'm in the minority of those who've submitted a review, but I didn't like this recipe at all! This was the first sweet potato pie that I 've made. I've read that oftentimes sweet potato pie is so much better than regular pumpkin pie, so I was anxious to try a sweet potato pie. I followed the recipe exactly, but my husband and I both didn't like it. Of course, I'm comparing it to pumpkin, and maybe that's wrong (like comparing apples to oranges). I therefore didn't rate this recipe. Unfortunately I ended up throwing the pie out and the recipe. I'll stick to pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
My guests loved this receipe! I was not sure if the ingredient rum meant extract or pure so I used pure Puerto Rican spiced rum and it gave the pie a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Great pie!! Didn't think it looked right going in the oven, but turned out fantastic! Top it off with a pecan and brown sugar mixture during the last 15 minutes of baking and it's good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
I love this pie. It's the best sweet potatoe pie recipe that I've found. My family, friends, and co-workers make it disappear really fast. You have got to try it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This recipe is great! I made it this evening and couldn't let it cool before trying it. This was so quick to assemble with the processor, my three year old helped. I cut back on the sugar since I have gestational diabetes and it was still delicious. Other than that I followed the directions pretty closely, though I added a little more spices to compensate for the reduced sugar. I think I put in about a 1/4 off a cup of brown sugar. I did add a little vanilla, but that just makes sense... This came out really great, it satisfied my craving without making me ill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Although this pie was texturally excellent, no one in my family enjoyed the rum taste. I am going to try it again omitting the rum and adding a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This was very, very good. I put on a topping from another recipe, (Sweet Potato Pie). I will make this for Thanksgiving. dggilmore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I was dubious - I thought it might be like pumpkin pie which I hate. No way - it's easy to make, creamy and delicious - not too much nutmeg flavor. I'll do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States