Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I concur that the amount of sugar listed in the recipe seems too small. I upped the quantity to 2/3 cup of white sugar. Having said that, this is a remarkably easy recipe to fit in to even the time constraints of a full menu, resulting in a pie so delicious that battles ensued as to who will get third helpings. Strongly recommend to cooks of all skill levels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was my first time ever making a sweet potatoe pie and it was a hit. Quick and easy. Friends and family loved it. I made enough for 2 pies (I cooked 3 large size sweet potatoes.) Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I feel sort of bad giving this review to this recipe because clearly I'm in the minority of those who've submitted a review, but I didn't like this recipe at all! This was the first sweet potato pie that I 've made. I've read that oftentimes sweet potato pie is so much better than regular pumpkin pie, so I was anxious to try a sweet potato pie. I followed the recipe exactly, but my husband and I both didn't like it. Of course, I'm comparing it to pumpkin, and maybe that's wrong (like comparing apples to oranges). I therefore didn't rate this recipe. Unfortunately I ended up throwing the pie out and the recipe. I'll stick to pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
My guests loved this receipe! I was not sure if the ingredient rum meant extract or pure so I used pure Puerto Rican spiced rum and it gave the pie a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Great pie!! Didn't think it looked right going in the oven, but turned out fantastic! Top it off with a pecan and brown sugar mixture during the last 15 minutes of baking and it's good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
I love this pie. It's the best sweet potatoe pie recipe that I've found. My family, friends, and co-workers make it disappear really fast. You have got to try it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by absentMindedcook
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This recipe is great! I made it this evening and couldn't let it cool before trying it. This was so quick to assemble with the processor, my three year old helped. I cut back on the sugar since I have gestational diabetes and it was still delicious. Other than that I followed the directions pretty closely, though I added a little more spices to compensate for the reduced sugar. I think I put in about a 1/4 off a cup of brown sugar. I did add a little vanilla, but that just makes sense... This came out really great, it satisfied my craving without making me ill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Although this pie was texturally excellent, no one in my family enjoyed the rum taste. I am going to try it again omitting the rum and adding a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This was very, very good. I put on a topping from another recipe, (Sweet Potato Pie). I will make this for Thanksgiving. dggilmore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I was dubious - I thought it might be like pumpkin pie which I hate. No way - it's easy to make, creamy and delicious - not too much nutmeg flavor. I'll do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States