Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This recipe doesn't need the rum. It's wonderful with out it. I needed 2 pies so by doubling the recipe I had to double the amount of evaporated milk. For that reason I added 1 extra egg to keep everything creamy. This amount of milk calls for extra spices and extra sugar. I used 1 full teaspoon of cinnamon( 2 would be ok if you love cinnamon) Instead of nutmeg(don't care for) I added 1/2 teaspoon of ginger and 1/4 teaspoon cloves. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. I used 1 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of light brown sugar. Sounds like lots of sugar but my family & friends who don't like things too sweet said this is my best sweet potato pie yet! So thank you for this original recipe! ( I always use Marie Calendar's pie crust/frozen food isle)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was my first sweet potato pie attempt and I think it turned out yummy! I had enough filling to fill 2 deep dish pre-made crusts. The only thing extra I added was a dash of ginger and a little extra cinnamon because I love cinnamon :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redheadbh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ollied
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ollied

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rosedale, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I mixed this in my blender, which yeilded a very professional even texture. With that said, this recipe needs something more, it's a tad bland. Next time, I'll add vanilla, more of the spices, and brown sugar since it could have been a bit sweeter, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is one of the best recipes I have ever tasted. It does need more sugar though. My in-laws were fighting over my pies and said they haven't had a sweet potato pie this good since my mother-in-law passed away in 2001. Great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I used 3 sweet potatos, and that made enough for 2 pies. My kids loved this! Even my husband, who doesn't usually like this type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made this one time for Thanksgiving dinner and it turned out so good that now I am responsible for it every year. My husband even requests it over his mother's. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
my family loves this pie. It is very simple to make too. I've even made a few up and froze them for a while then thawed and baked when we wanted a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was my first sweet potato pie and my family loved it! It was perfect! This recipe is definitely a keeper. My husband is a great cook and like this recipe exceptionally because it did not include flour. Great texture. This recipe can easily be adjusted to yield more than one pie at a time. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Visa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I have to agree with 1 other reviewer. This pie is not even close to my mom’s and honestly that’s not even the point. I knew no one would come close to her recipe, but man this is not even on the same planet. I haven’t put my finger on it yet, but there is something seriously missing in this pie. It doesn’t have enough flavor or spice. Something is missing! I won’t make this again, sorry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States