Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I use brown sugar and add how much I want by taste, if I feel like it isn't sweet enough than I will add a little white sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yum. Yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
The pie was great, but the rum can be substituted for Vanilla and/or Lemon extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was easy and fun to make! My family loved it. The pie was gone in two days. Will efinitely need to make this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great Outline. I tweaked the recipe to fit what I wanted. I used a butter substitute called Earth Balance, whole wheat pie shells, a cup more of organic sugar, 6 white sweet potatoes (I wanted to make two pies) and just a can of evaporated milk along with the spices. I forgot the rum though. Next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Hands down the best sweet potato pie I have ever made! I was sceptical about using only using 3/8 a cup of sugar, but it was the perfect amount. I only used 1 tbsp of rum but I think 2 would've been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
GREAT. I think the 3/8 cup sugar is an error. It's very odd to see 3/8 cup in a recipe. Anyway, I used 1/4 c light brown sugar and 1/4 cup Splenda and grated fresh nutmeg. Mixed all in blender. Very easy. Everybody LOVED this pie. Even the picky folks. I made it again without the nutmeg and they loved it too. Everyone raved about the perfect consistency and the actual TASTE of sweet potato. OH, I used beautiful, ORGANIC sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Awesome Awesome!! I had been using the recipe off the pumpkin can and substituting sweet potatoes for years and was scared to try a new recipe, this was better then I ever expected. I used Vanilla instead of rum and was very wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This recipe doesn't need the rum. It's wonderful with out it. I needed 2 pies so by doubling the recipe I had to double the amount of evaporated milk. For that reason I added 1 extra egg to keep everything creamy. This amount of milk calls for extra spices and extra sugar. I used 1 full teaspoon of cinnamon( 2 would be ok if you love cinnamon) Instead of nutmeg(don't care for) I added 1/2 teaspoon of ginger and 1/4 teaspoon cloves. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. I used 1 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of light brown sugar. Sounds like lots of sugar but my family & friends who don't like things too sweet said this is my best sweet potato pie yet! So thank you for this original recipe! ( I always use Marie Calendar's pie crust/frozen food isle)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was my first sweet potato pie attempt and I think it turned out yummy! I had enough filling to fill 2 deep dish pre-made crusts. The only thing extra I added was a dash of ginger and a little extra cinnamon because I love cinnamon :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redheadbh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States