Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. Very sweet. My daughter thought it was dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I have never baked a sweet potato pie in my life. I found this recipe while searching for a good Christmas dessert. It was really easy to make and not time consuming at all. I was VERY surprised when my husband went back to kitchen for a second slice. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. BliSs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I have made this recipe 3 times now and I love it. I boil the potatoes but I add bake time if needed. My Daughter made this pie for a school project the 1st time we made it and her class loved it! It's simple and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This pie is fabulous!!!!! I took the advice from a few of the ratings and reduced the amount of white sugar by half. Also added 1/2tsp of vanilla. Could probably have skipped the white sugar all together because pie was a little too sweet for my taste BUT STILL excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This pie is delicious! Can't get it often enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is the lightest, most flavorful sweet potato pie recipe I have tried yet. Not being from the south, I had never made sweet potato pie, but my in-laws (thoroughly southern) were totally amazed at this Yankee's pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Delicious sweet potato pie! Very southern. Only requires around 2-2 1/2 large potatoes. Let cook thoroughly. Place aluminum foil loosely over pie to avoid over-browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This pie was amazing! Perfect texture, amazing spice levels and the flavor! Oh, I will be using this recipe frequently! I baked and then peeled my sweet potatoes. Followed the recipe, folded in the egg whites, and baked! Easy to make! My family was skeptical, because of the way it looks, but they all agreed it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Too much brown sugar made the pie dark, would not use ginger and where's the vanilla, pie was okay put would not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This pie was so good and I don't even care for sweet potatoe pie like that! While growing up my mom always made this pie during the holiday season. My daughter and husband who are not fans of any type of sweets loved this. I did double everything and added a couple of things which are things my mom has always used in her pies. Brushed the edges of pie crusts with egg whites and baked for about 5-7 mins before pouring pie mix. I used 1/2 cup of sweetened condensed milk and 1/2 cup of evap. milk, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1 1/4 cup brown sugar b/c of the amount of cinnamon used (1 tbsp) AND b/c this pie is not sweet potatoe pie unless its sweet, lol. Added 1 tbsp vanilla flavor and 1 tsp all spice. One thing about sweet potatoe pie is that you have to make it according to your taste. So what may work for some may not work for others. I read a lot of the reviews before making my pies and thanks to those who provided the great tips. So good luck and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TASIKA78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States