Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Too much brown sugar made the pie dark, would not use ginger and where's the vanilla, pie was okay put would not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This pie was so good and I don't even care for sweet potatoe pie like that! While growing up my mom always made this pie during the holiday season. My daughter and husband who are not fans of any type of sweets loved this. I did double everything and added a couple of things which are things my mom has always used in her pies. Brushed the edges of pie crusts with egg whites and baked for about 5-7 mins before pouring pie mix. I used 1/2 cup of sweetened condensed milk and 1/2 cup of evap. milk, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1 1/4 cup brown sugar b/c of the amount of cinnamon used (1 tbsp) AND b/c this pie is not sweet potatoe pie unless its sweet, lol. Added 1 tbsp vanilla flavor and 1 tsp all spice. One thing about sweet potatoe pie is that you have to make it according to your taste. So what may work for some may not work for others. I read a lot of the reviews before making my pies and thanks to those who provided the great tips. So good luck and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TASIKA78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was an excellent recipe, especially since I had all ingredient on hand for once! I like a spicier pie so I doubled the spices and then I sprinkled a large amount of brown sugar all over the top of the pie - it gave it a delicious crispy crust on top and looks nice too. I would definitely recommend creaming the butter and brown sugar before adding the other ingredients in step one, or else the butter even if soft, doesn't mix very well once you have all that liquid in there. That may be a no brainer but it wasn't in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Excellent pie!!!! This is the fourth time I've made this pie and it's incredible every time! My family prefers this over pumpkin pie! However, I double the cinnamon and add extra ginger and nutmeg. I also use about 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of a full cup. BEST SWEET POTATO PIE EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
awesome....if you like a custard like sweet potatoe pie, which sets it apart from reg pumpkin pie, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is very good! The only thing I'd change is to not use ginger. I've eaten sweet potato pie since I've been a kid and my grandmother never used ginger. I used a hand blender to make the sweet potatoes more smooth. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made this pie and took it to work. Everyone raved over it!!! The recipe makes two pies too! I received orders for 6 of these pies today for Thanksgiving! Woohoo! the extra money will come in handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I don't like sweet potatoe pie, but my family dose and they liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Wonderful recipe but make certain you cook 30 "MORE" minutes than recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
My fiance said that he didn't like sweet potato pie, and I told him that he could at least try it. After about an hour of, "I don't like sweet potatoes." crying in my ear he tried it and ate half the pie already. Next time I'm cutting out some of the sugar. Other then that, yum-o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmsbeckie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States