Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was an excellent recipe, especially since I had all ingredient on hand for once! I like a spicier pie so I doubled the spices and then I sprinkled a large amount of brown sugar all over the top of the pie - it gave it a delicious crispy crust on top and looks nice too. I would definitely recommend creaming the butter and brown sugar before adding the other ingredients in step one, or else the butter even if soft, doesn't mix very well once you have all that liquid in there. That may be a no brainer but it wasn't in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Excellent pie!!!! This is the fourth time I've made this pie and it's incredible every time! My family prefers this over pumpkin pie! However, I double the cinnamon and add extra ginger and nutmeg. I also use about 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of a full cup. BEST SWEET POTATO PIE EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
awesome....if you like a custard like sweet potatoe pie, which sets it apart from reg pumpkin pie, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is very good! The only thing I'd change is to not use ginger. I've eaten sweet potato pie since I've been a kid and my grandmother never used ginger. I used a hand blender to make the sweet potatoes more smooth. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made this pie and took it to work. Everyone raved over it!!! The recipe makes two pies too! I received orders for 6 of these pies today for Thanksgiving! Woohoo! the extra money will come in handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I don't like sweet potatoe pie, but my family dose and they liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Wonderful recipe but make certain you cook 30 "MORE" minutes than recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
My fiance said that he didn't like sweet potato pie, and I told him that he could at least try it. After about an hour of, "I don't like sweet potatoes." crying in my ear he tried it and ate half the pie already. Next time I'm cutting out some of the sugar. Other then that, yum-o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmsbeckie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
The recipe turned out great.....tasting better than my pumpkin pie recipe. I did modify the recipe just a bit....incorporating the eggs all at once instead of beting the egg whites separate (serious time saver) and using sweetened condensed milk instead of the evaporated milk AND sugar. I doubled the recipe tto make two pies and they both came out perfectly fine. I would recommend baking tthe sweet potatoes in the oven for two hours and using a food processor to make the potatoes smooth for a better texture. This recipe even allows for a slight mishap of forgetting to turn the oven temperature down. THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This pie is wonderful! I didn't have any cinnamon or ginger, so I just added a little extra nutmeg! I will be making this pie again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States