Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This pie recipe is sooo yummy!!! I baked my sweet potatoes for about an hour in a 350 degree oven instead of boiling them. The flavor was enhanced tremendously by this simple change. I also reduced the amount of white sugar to about 1/8 cup (2 Tbs) because I felt that the baked sweet potatoes tasted so naturally sweet. It received rave reviews from both mine and my boyfriend's family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The pie came out beautifully. I have made Sweet Potato pie from a can before but never from scratch. This one definitely looks and from the compliments I received tastes better. I did bake my sweet potatoes wrapped in foil for about an hour before cooling for pie recipe. As most other reviewers this helps to get more of the sweet potato flavor. I ended up only needing two and a half large sweet potatoes to meet the two cup requirements. I will be using this recipe from now on, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Weikum

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great receipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for the family and they loved it. I did change the amount of surgar to less. I scooped the brown sugar rather than packed it. Some of the family likes real sweet and didnt care for it but those who watch their sugar intake but want a little taste of sweet really liked it. Thanks. I made this again without the sugar for a friend who cant have it in place I used 4 Tblspn of Blue Aguve instead and no crust. It turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie turned out really well, though I did have to cook it a good bit longer than the 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I thought this pie was too sweet. I prefer a firmer pie and prefer to taste more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was an awesome pie!!!! I don't know how but I ended up with extra & ended up making 4 pies instead of two! Maybe if I had used a deep dish pie crust? Will be making this one again & again. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlzfish2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
First time making Sweet Potato Pie. This recipe was easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
We smoke this pie in our smoker, at about 275, until the center sets. It is AWESOME! When smoked, it tastes like toasted marshmallows on the top of the pie. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was a great recipe except that I played around with it just a bit to make it have a bit more flavor and texture. Added a touch more of the cinnamon, nutmeg,ginger and also added a little vanilla for taste. I also make the mix a little bit thicker by adding just a touch more of the potatoes and making the egg whites and white sugar like a meringue consistency. I have made this every year for thanksgiving and always get great remarks about the pie. The family always ask that I make it in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdimartini69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States