Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The first time I made this recipe I accidentally used yams instead if sweet potatoes. Now EVERYONE I've ever made it for (with yams) begs me to remake it every year. Hands down- best recipe ever. I'd give it 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I use brown sugar instead of white. I also add marshmallows the last 20 mins of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This sweet potato pie is the bomb! I made it and it was fantastic! I made a few substitutions in the original recipe and it proved so worth it. Instead of the white sugar, I did 1/2 brown and 1/2 white. In addition, I added 1/2 tsp ginger and one tablespoon of molasses, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I love this recipe!!! I also use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white like other users suggested. I steam my potatoes, I cut them in fours, sprinkle cinnamon on them and steam for 1/2 hr or so. The skin comes right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this pie for Christmas dinner last year and my entire family loved it. My mom said that she'll never buy a pumpkin pie again. Really easy to make too. Making it today for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Instead of adding milk and sugar I replaced it with condensed milk and also mixed in a spoonful of a can od yams in light syrup to get a nice full flavor. Good recipe with a little bit of improvising. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I made this today and it came out really well :) With a few adjustments, though: I used 1.5 sweet potatoes, I'm not sure how much they weighed... no vanilla extract, because I forgot it at the store a little flour to hold it all together a little salt to bring out the flavor only half a cup of sugar LOTS of spices because I like it that way :D The consistency wasn't exactly right due to my messing with it, but it's fine, and the flavor is really good :D I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top and plan to serve it with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Will be making this again this year. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
100%!!! Few tips, bake the potatoes, add the 2tbsp of lemon juice, add the 1/4 tsp of ginger!!! And if you don't have a mixer, put it in the blender! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoffeeHeaven
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
My pic is pre-baking but the outcome was so perfect! The only modification I made was 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar (which was quite sweet, I will add a bit less sugar next time) plus I used pumpkin pie spice and nutmeg, adding a touch more than stated in the recipe. I used a homemade pie crust and I peeled the sweet potato and chopped it into chunks before boiling it to cut down significantly on cooking time. Be careful, sweet potatoes can be very hard so be sure to use a heavy bladed knife. Happy Baking Everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeHeaven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States