Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
So very good! I had leftover homemade sweet potato baby food (purée). I used this and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Boy does this smell and taste delicious! Had a lot of extra (uncooked) sweet potatoes left after Thanksgiving and used two medium sized ones for this pie. (I was confused by the "1 (1 lb) potato" in the ingredients. Couldn't weigh them and one just wasn't enough.) I also used Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust recipe with this and it seemed to work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is the first time I made sweet potato pie and it was very nice. I do have to admit that I added extra spice. I use organic cylon cinnamon so I doubled the amount and it brings such a fruity flavor to anything you bake, its the best. I did not have any milk on hand so I used cream instead and it came out very rich and creamy, more of a thick pudding than a dense filling. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
It tasted so good! I used a square glass pan and rolled the dough into a square shape.and it still cooked fin extra cinnamon and a little less nutmeg and it still tasted great. My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I used the yams left over from Thanksgiving dinner I did add the eggs and flour to my mixture as the other ingredients were already incorporated in ky yam recipe.... Came out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaneadsha Jones

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosey7477
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This has become one of my favorite recipes! Besides myself my daughter is in the only one that eats it, my goal is to get the rest of my family to eat it as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Awfully sweet, especially if you're going to top it with whipped cream. I recommend cutting the sugar down to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Welker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is great pie...used about 3 cups of mashed sweet potato, buttermilk instead of reg. milk, added 1 tablespoon of all-purpose flour to thicken it a bit and reduced the sugar to about 3/4 cup. Made a dense pie which for me is preferable over a "whipped" kind of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is just like my grandmother's recipe! I made two for Thanksgiving this year and everyone LOVED them! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakerlicious
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The longest time was boiling the 1 pound sweet potato. Mine took about an hour to boil. Then it was nice and soft when I stuck it with a fork. This is a Great recipe!!! Simple, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States