Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I doubled this recipe because my pie pan looked bigger than 9 inches, and it was the perfect amount of filling. I switch from white sugar brown sugar instead, added a full tablespoon of vanilla extract, a tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice in place of the other spices, and I omitted the butter. After the potatoes cooked I mix them with the eggs, milk, and other ingredients to finish them off in the blender so the texture had a perfectly smooth consistency instead of trying to use my mixing machine and risk having filling fly everywhere and not getting all the chunks from the potatoes out. The taste was fantastic. I bake it for about 50 minutes on 350°, and the filling set perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Smallwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
IF YOUR PIE FILLING IS WATERY TRY THIS----I love this recipe, but the mix kept coming out watery! I googled it, and stopped boiling the potatoes. I roasted them for one hour, peeled off the skin, broke them up into chunks and threw em in a blender with the 1/2 c milk the recipe calls for. The mix was very smooth, and I added it to a mixing bowl with the rest of the ingredients (only because my blender isn't big enough or everything would have gone in the blender). I baked the pie for about an hour and ten minutes. It came out perfect. If you like your pie a little sweeter, add an additional 1/2 c sugar. My husband likes it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra Day
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I love this recipe because it simple. But I changed a few things because that's what I do with my pumpkin pies from scratch. I had about a half a cup of finally shaved coconut and I add a cup of low fat canned coconut milk. I changed it to half of the amount of butter as well. The coconut shavings thicken it up a little bit and gives it better texture and flavor. I baked mine at 1 hour and 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Day

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This came out so amazing! Used Vanilla almond milk instead of milk to make it non-dairy. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochel Urszuy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This recipe is so easy but so delicious! You can really taste the sweet potatoes. Makes the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede Karafotias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Very flavorful , everyone loved it . My Mom asked me for the recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Definitely a keeper if this is the only thing a fussy 2 year old will eat on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Son Mi Yi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Tried this recipe twice... Times amazing!! I don't like nutmeg so I substituted ginger and used sweetened condensed milk and it came out AMAZEBALLS!! Family loved even the ones who don't like sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I agree this recipe is amazing! I was able to make two pies instead of one because I prefer thinner pies so I didnt use the deep crust. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States