Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I love sw pot pie and always order it when on the menu. This one is fantastic. It is sweet but that is how my family likes it (we are from the south) I used two cups of potato ( 2 med size) that I cooked in the microwave. I was worried about strings based on other reviews but there were no strings at all. Even though I love this recipe I am tempted to try some of the others on this site just to compare, but this one is a keeper. I did buy the crust, Wholly Wholesome whole wheat as I like to feel like I am making some attempt at good choices, you didnt even notice it was whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was my first attempt at making sweet potato pie. It came out fabulous! I didn't change a thing. This is a keeper and will be making it for a family get together in a few weeks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
First of all, I must say, I HATE sweet potatoes! My son left some here so I thought I'd try it. This pie is awesome!! The only things I changed were, I used evaporated milk and used pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon/nutmeg. Baked up perfect! Don't know how people ended up with a runny or too sweet pie? This will be one of the desserts on the menu this week at the restaurant I bake at!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galeton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Very very good. Maybe use a little less sugar next time...a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Results were great. I used sweet condensed milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I love the flavor of sweet potatoes, but I didn't want something too sweet. I made it with 1/2 the sugar and 1/2 the butter and it still turned out amazing. Also, I used Deanna's Gluten-Free pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My son made this for a project at school to represent South Carolina cuisine. It was wonderful. He substituted evaporated milk for the milk and cut the butter down by a 25%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is so easy to make! My dad loves it, he actually teared up when he tried it because it reminded him of his mother's sweet potato pie (she died before my parents got married 27 years ago). She was the classic southern cook from Alabama. Me and him share it and its usually gone by the end of the week and its time to make another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I've made all the alterations suggested by SL. It turned out just perfect. Just added chopped walnut over the filling and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is my first homemade pie, and it is a hit! My sister declares I could sell them - LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States