Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made 2 of these for Thanksgiving. Followed the adivce of 1/2 c white and 1/2 c of brown sugar, and adding the flour and lemon juice. My brother who loves sweet potato pie and has tried many different pies, said this was by far the best hes every tasted!! I have tried sweet potatoe pie in the past and didn't care for it, tried this one and LOVED it! Thanks!!! Only downside is I'll have to keep making it for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this pie a few times. The first time I added 1/2 Tabelspoon of Nutmeg and Cinnamon instead of 1/2 Teaspoon and it ended up tasting like pumpkin pie. (still good though) the second time I put the right amount of ingredients and brought it to my Church's agape sunday dinner. My husband said it was better than the first and everyone who tried it said it was really good :) I tweaked the recipe just a little by only putting 1/2 cup white sugar and adding 1/2 cup brown sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
First time making a sweet potato pie and it was a huge hit! I used the microwave for my sweet potatoes but other than that, I'm a recipe follower and I followed this to a tee...yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe, basically the same as my mother's. She recently passed at 99 years of age. I just jumped on this site to see if I could find subtle changes that might make it a little different. The addition of stiff egg whites should mak it a tad lighter. The last time I made sweet potato pies I used spiced rum as half of the liquid, a definite plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I've made this twice. I use 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 1 cup of white, but besides that I do as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Where to start. This pie was delicious but it gave me quite a bit of grief. First off, I over estimated the amount of potato as some users suggested and still had too little. Had to run to the store early Thanksgiving morning. Then after an hour of baking, it wouldn't firm up! It baked for around 1.5 hours and much freaking out, it firmed. It was gorgeous for sure. But the consistency was strange. Next time, I'll puree everything, then bake. That being said, it was the only pie at dinner that got completely eaten! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I had never made sweet potatoes before but had three or four of them. Found this recipe and tried it. Made a delicious sweet potato pie for Thanksgiving dinner. Very easy to follow. I did microwave the sweet potatoes as others suggested. I worried it wouldn't set, but it was great. Nice firm texture and yummier than Pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terryo
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is my first attempt at a Sweet Potato Pie.I read many of the reviews and applied many of the ideas(added 2 Tbls. flour,1/2 cup white sugar,1/2 cup brown sugar and replaced milk with evaporated milk) when making my pie.THIS is the pie I will make over and over again...DEElish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terryo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This pie was delicious! Very easy to make. I used a very large sweet potato and had to boil it about 15 minutes longer than the recipe suggests but it turned out great. I am going to try making one this weekend substituting a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Goddard, Kansas, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States