Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great tasting pie! I served it this Thanksgiving and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Phillips
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Has been years since I had sweet potato pie made by my grandmother from scratch. She was a wonderful pie maker and thought it was impossible to match the quality of pie she produced. My lovely girlfriend is a very good cook and I am happy to say with this recipe was able to match my grandmothers skills!!! Thanks Rachel!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was great! I baked my Sweet Potatoes which came in all odd sizes and shapes from small to medium, so there were about 7 or 8 but they equaled 2 cups after I peeled them and put the insides into the bowl. I also pre-baked the frozen Marie Calendars Pie Crust per the instructions on the package, and I think that helps make the crust full and flaky even on the bottom. This pie was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time on Thanksgiving 11/27/14. It turned out great. It reminds me of my grandmother's sweet potato pie which I have loved since I was a child. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I've been making sweet potato pie for 35 years and I have to say using other reviewers suggestions and adding my own tweaks this is the best pie I've ever tasted! Half brown half white sugar, 1 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp allspice, 1 tbl lemon juice, 2 tbl black strap molasses, 1 tbl flour, heavy cream, and I doubled the recipe, made 2 in Marie Calender deep dish shells. Absolutely Fantastic! 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Silva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Best sweet potato pie ever will be going into my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Very good recipe . My one complaint however would be it's a little on the sweet side. Will definitely use only half a cup next time I bake bake this pie. Other than that it was fantasic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuni Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Awesome recipe! My family loved the pie. Make sure you follow the instructions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've used this recipe for the last 3 years for Thanksgiving and Christmas and everyone loves it. I made a few tweaks. I add vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon, vanilla, and cloves to the water as it boils and then throw in the potatoes. It enhances the flavor tremendously. I also use buttermilk in the recipe instead of regular milk. I personally don't find a probably with the texture. Mash the potatoes and butter together with a potatoe masher. And use an electric mixture for the rest of the prep. And in an hour you'll have an awesome pie. It is sweet but a little indulgence and vanilla ice cream will help with that... It's the holidays after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tya1985

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It was awesome! My family enjoyed the sweet potato pie for thanksgiving! I will be making another one very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,693) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States