Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Alan O'Hashi
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe was my first crack at pie baking and it turned out to be a successful experiment. I took some of the other's advice which, I'm pretty sure, improved the outcome. I'm generally one who doesn't follow instructions very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've made this recipe several time. I used evaporated milk instead of the regular for that oldfashioned taste. I love how sweet it taste. Will continue to make this recipe for my family...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I've been using this recipe for nearly ten years. I've made several versions over the years. My favorite is to substitute the milk with heavy cream (in the carton). For the sugar, I use half white sugar, half brown sugar and I add a teaspoon of brandy (my preference) or rum (if I don't have any brandy), and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. I usually make about four pies every time because friends steal whole pies when I make them. Tip: To avoid stringiness of sweet potatoes, use a hand mixer, and remove the strings on the beaters and discard. I usually add an extra small sweet potato to the recipe to compensate for the stringy potato I will discard from the beaters. I hate strings in my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this pie for "Friendsgiving," so it had to stand up to a whole array of pies that others had brought. Taking the advice of others, I used two large sweet potatoes and roasted them at 400 degrees for an hour and 10 minutes. I also substituted evaporated milk for the regular milk and used half brown/half white sugar. It baked up wonderfully and set after cooling completely. The party was the next evening, and I wish I had let the pie sit out at room temperature until then, because the crust got a little too soggy for my liking. So my tips are: use the substitutions recommended by many other users, avoid refrigeration, and roast-don't boil-your sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Extremely easy!! The only changes I made is instead of pie crust I made sugar cookies and drop them by the spoonful in a buttered muffin tin and par bake it for 7mins. Then added hefty size dollop of sweet potato pie filling and bake it per recipe! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Excellent. Just like my mom's and grandma's secret recipie. Only change I made was evaporated milk instead or regular milk. My Friend thought my mom made the pie!! Yummy, Yummy, Yummy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I unfortunately lost our family recipe for sweet potato pie and came across this recipe while trying to find a replacement. This pie is delicious and may even be better than the recipe I lost. I would recommend this recipe as is don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I tried sweet potato pie recipes before, but to date, this one is best. I tweeked the recipe in two ways - one, I followed the suggestion of one of the other reviewers and used canned evaporated milk instead of regular milk, and two, I substituted Splenda for the sugar (mother is a diabetic). No discernible taste difference. And Mom loved it. Oh, and I used it as a custard-sort of dessert, spooned it into custard dishes and baked for 32 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was my first pie ever. This recipe is the best. It was simple, easy to follow and boosted my culinary confidence!! :)I'm turning it in to my professor the day before Thanks Giving... lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Best sweet potato pie ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States