Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I tried this recipe and I loved it. Great tasting pie . I added some whip cream on top. Cooked perfectly. Nothing else was needed . It is all gone in 1 day. Must make 2 next time for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Maybe I just don't like sweet potato pie. This was the first one I ever ate and I didn't care for it that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I'm giving this 4 stars because it was way too sweet. I'd lessen the sugar. Thank you for the recipe, really love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe several times over the years for Thanksgiving and everyone loves it. It's not overloaded with spices and is a nice creamy texture. I always substitute reduced fat milk and light butter when I make it though but that doesn't affect quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Best pie I've ever had! I had to bake it longer than the suggested 50 minutes as it was quite watery. Will use more sweet potato next time, and substitute half the sugar with brown sugar. I followed other reviewers' advice and used lemon juice, cloves, and ginger, and the flavor was splendid! After it is finished baking, turn off the oven and leave it inside for 15 minutes to get a nice carmelized topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious! I used a store bought biscuit shell and peeled the potatoes before boiling and just used the same method as for mashed potatoes. Also used less sugar. Came out beautifully light and creamy. Next time I make this I will use coconut milk or evaporated milk. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aussie Mitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is the first time I have made my own sweet potato pie and this recipe comes out perfectly. I did use a ready made pie crust but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Even cooked my own sweet potatoes! This pie was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I received rave reviews on this pie every time I've made it. Even from ladies who have eaten sweet potato their entire lives. They say it's the best they've had. I used drained canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh and it came out great and was a huge time saver. I used about two cups mashed per pie. I also mixed the potatoes and milk in the blender to get a nice purée.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurabarmby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I only used 1/3 of sugar and it was really sickly sweet..will try again with less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made this for the first time for Christmas eve and it was a big hit. It was creamy not gritty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States