Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was so simple to make and my family loved it. I added my own taste of brown sugar which made it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is my third time using and everyone love it. I make four at a time so I tripled recipe. And I still have enough filling for one more pie. So I will have to tweek the amount I use again next year or use deeper pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Very good recipe though I always love to do something a bit different to my pies. Some changes: I used 1/4 cup of white sugar, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup of sweet condensed milk; also replaced milk with evaporated milk; used two different types of large "roots"--regular yams (the orange one) but also Japanese sweet potato (purple skin, golden inside) and I washed, stabbed them with the knife a few times, and baked them both the night before for 50-60 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit (baking makes it much sweeter because it causes the sugar in potatoes to caramelize!!); Finally, I made my own crust that is very similar to cheesecake crust using graham crackers, ginger snaps, sugar and butter. Turned into one heck of a pie!! I will be making this again for sure. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Just made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I used a 1lb, 13 oz can of sweet potatoes and mashed them up. I also doubled the vanilla. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I use this recipe EVER year!!! My family loves this recipe. This year my sister begged me to make the pies again and I was able to back 5 with more mix left over so I will refrig and bake more when I get back for my husband to take to work. I am a diabetic so I just have to replace sugar with 1/3 sugar leaf. Only for one pie did I change the sugar and named it but for all other ones I used this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alan O'Hashi
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I bake pies once a year and settled on this recipe. It is a sweet potato pie for dummies. The pies turn out perfect every time even for the occasional baker like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've made this recipe several time. I used evaporated milk instead of the regular for that oldfashioned taste. I love how sweet it taste. Will continue to make this recipe for my family...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I've been using this recipe for nearly ten years. I've made several versions over the years. My favorite is to substitute the milk with heavy cream (in the carton). For the sugar, I use half white sugar, half brown sugar and I add a teaspoon of brandy (my preference) or rum (if I don't have any brandy), and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. I usually make about four pies every time because friends steal whole pies when I make them. Tip: To avoid stringiness of sweet potatoes, use a hand mixer, and remove the strings on the beaters and discard. I usually add an extra small sweet potato to the recipe to compensate for the stringy potato I will discard from the beaters. I hate strings in my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this pie for "Friendsgiving," so it had to stand up to a whole array of pies that others had brought. Taking the advice of others, I used two large sweet potatoes and roasted them at 400 degrees for an hour and 10 minutes. I also substituted evaporated milk for the regular milk and used half brown/half white sugar. It baked up wonderfully and set after cooling completely. The party was the next evening, and I wish I had let the pie sit out at room temperature until then, because the crust got a little too soggy for my liking. So my tips are: use the substitutions recommended by many other users, avoid refrigeration, and roast-don't boil-your sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Extremely easy!! The only changes I made is instead of pie crust I made sugar cookies and drop them by the spoonful in a buttered muffin tin and par bake it for 7mins. Then added hefty size dollop of sweet potato pie filling and bake it per recipe! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States