Sweet Potato Pie from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Wonderful! I used a large can of Bruce's yams and drained the liquid. I then added cinnamon, cloves, ginger and nutmeg.I made this for my husband who loves sweet potato pie.I will be making this at Thanksgiving as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Taste is wonderful! The only reason that I gave this recipe a four star instead of five is the amount of sweet potatoes can vary. I would prefer a cup amount of sweet potato ie: 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetCook
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Okay so this is my first sweet potato pie. I decided to use one reviewer’s suggestion to use canned sweet potatoes and made two pies using a 2lb can, which I could have divided to make a single pie. However, because the canned potatoes were not hot or even warm - the ingredients didn’t combine as I had thought. So before I added the eggs - I popped the whole thing in the microwave to incorporate the milk, potatoes and spices then added the eggs and beat with my electric mixer – this made the consistency alittle smoother. Tip : I used “Apple Pie” spice – which is actually cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice combined. Also I did not have the grated orange peel so I used orange juice instead. It came wonderful and my husband loved it. Next time even if I do use canned - I will heat the potatoes up first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This definitely is a five star recipe. We absolutely love this pie. No changes are necessary--it's perfect as is. With that said, I usually make my own pie crust for this recipe. The Butter Flaky pie crust is my go-to recipe for this pie, which is also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I made 3 pies for Thanksgiving Dinner and there were not even crumbs left! This was my 1st time cooking a Holiday dinner for my (and my husband's) very large Louisiana family, where everyone is a great cook and a critic. The pies were a hit and there's a request for me to make them again at Christmas. I did alter the recipe a bit by adding ground cloves and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This is a wonderful pie. We used home grown sweet potatoes and topped the pie with 1 pint sour cream plus 4 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made this pie this evening and it was delicious. I have never made it before and it was very simple. However, the recipe is supposed to make 1 pie, I had enough filling for 2 pies. Luckily I had another crust on hand. I was told by others who have made this pie before to use yams instead instead of sweet potatoes. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE MAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Great recipe! I made 5 pies for friends and family, got nothing but rave reviews. I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I served this pie to a group of seniors that I cook for every week at church. They loved this pie. It was quick and simple to make and keeps well in the frige. I plan on making it again for another group next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Delicious! As a novice baker, I am impressed with how well my pie came out. I can't stop eating it! This is, easily, the best sweet potato pie I've ever had in my life. My edits includes: a touch more nutmeg both for the mise en place, but also to season the water for cooking potatoes (with a pinch of salt); 1/2 t. of allspice; 1/4 t. of cloves; tangerine rind instead of orange; a touch of brown sugar; and an extra splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjonze

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States