Sweet Potato Pie from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
all I have to say, is this pie is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetCook
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Okay so this is my first sweet potato pie. I decided to use one reviewer’s suggestion to use canned sweet potatoes and made two pies using a 2lb can, which I could have divided to make a single pie. However, because the canned potatoes were not hot or even warm - the ingredients didn’t combine as I had thought. So before I added the eggs - I popped the whole thing in the microwave to incorporate the milk, potatoes and spices then added the eggs and beat with my electric mixer – this made the consistency alittle smoother. Tip : I used “Apple Pie” spice – which is actually cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice combined. Also I did not have the grated orange peel so I used orange juice instead. It came wonderful and my husband loved it. Next time even if I do use canned - I will heat the potatoes up first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELAQ
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This recipe is the best! I used to make sweet potato pies with my mom when I was younger and there was always alot of guessing how it would turn out. This recipe was so easy to work with and the result was absolute perfection. My husband and I killed it quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This recipe is my all-time favorite for sweet potato pie. Of course I have a major sweet tooth so I always modify my recipes, and this was no exception. I used one large yam and one large sweet potato for the filling, and added some cinnamon, allspice, a teeny bit more orange rind, and about a tablespoon of brown sugar. I then topped it with a layer of sugar-coated pecans and a layer of mini marshmallows in the last fifteen minutes of baking. The pecans melted a bit to make a wonderful caramelized glaze while the marshmallows browned lightly and looked beautiful. It was a sensation! People still bring it up to this day, and I've been asked to make it every Thanksgiving from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
this is one of the best pies i have ever made this is the second thankgiving/christmas holiday i have made this recipe and my whole family loves them they even want to pay me to make it for them.. thanxs for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Very easy recipe that I am using again for the second time. The first time I did add some cloves and allspice and only used one large sweet potato. I also fixed the filling and then put it in a ziploc bag and froze it. On Thanksgiving day I thawed which didn't take long since I put it in a gallon bag and smashed thin..then I just cut off a corner of the bag and scooted it all in the pie shell...simple simple simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this pie for the first time last Thanksgiving. It was a real hit with everyone and very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Allendale, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made this pie this evening and it was delicious. I have never made it before and it was very simple. However, the recipe is supposed to make 1 pie, I had enough filling for 2 pies. Luckily I had another crust on hand. I was told by others who have made this pie before to use yams instead instead of sweet potatoes. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE MAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Wonderful! I used a large can of Bruce's yams and drained the liquid. I then added cinnamon, cloves, ginger and nutmeg.I made this for my husband who loves sweet potato pie.I will be making this at Thanksgiving as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States