Sweet Potato Pie from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Made this pie for thanksgiving both pies were gone before dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I had this for Thanksgiving. Too much nutmeg for me, I added some cloves and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
The recipe closest to Great Grandma's in La. that I can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This definitely is a five star recipe. We absolutely love this pie. No changes are necessary--it's perfect as is. With that said, I usually make my own pie crust for this recipe. The Butter Flaky pie crust is my go-to recipe for this pie, which is also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Unbelievably wonderful. The only thing I changed was adding 1 tsp. of orange extract as I didn't have any oranges in the house. My husband loved this and so did I. Rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Ok, this is the best. I just finished making this and am in the process of eating it now. We are a large family and making pies is just not worth the effort seeing as how I would need to make at least 3 just for dessert so, I made it into a custard and doubled the recipe with +1/2 cup brown sugar. Cooked at 350 in a water bath for 40-45 mins in a buttered 3qt baking dish. The family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I had never made a sweet potato pie with sweetened condensed milk or orange zest, but I tried this out for Thanksgiving and we really enjoyed it. I doubled the recipe and had enough pie filling for two deep dish pie shells. I'll make it this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Delicious! As a novice baker, I am impressed with how well my pie came out. I can't stop eating it! This is, easily, the best sweet potato pie I've ever had in my life. My edits includes: a touch more nutmeg both for the mise en place, but also to season the water for cooking potatoes (with a pinch of salt); 1/2 t. of allspice; 1/4 t. of cloves; tangerine rind instead of orange; a touch of brown sugar; and an extra splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjonze

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This pie has been THE standard sweet potato pie in my family since the mid 80's. It has a nice smooth texture and flavor. I have substituted ginger for the nutmeg and I also use a bit of allspice for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States