Sweet Potato Pecan Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I had a potato to use up so baked it and followed recipe, except walnuts instead of pecans. tend to be on the softer side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veryapparent
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a great way to use up a can of sweet potato puree without making a pie. I used all-purpose flour instead of cake flour, walnuts instead of pecans, a little bit less baking powder, salt, sugar, and nutmeg, and omitted the butter. The waffles did not come out crispy, but not soggy either. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Thanks for this great recipe! I made these to freeze for my 2 year old son & I so we would have waffles ready to go in the mornings for breakfast. I choose this recipe because i like to sneak in extra vegetables where ever I can! I used sweet potato puree that I made myself and I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 all purpose flour. I also used 1/2 nutmeg and 1/2 cinnamon because nutmeg can be overpowering to me. These were really good. I gave them 4 stars because I thought they could have had a touch more sweet potato flavor but all in all, terrific! I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is a really awesome waffle! We both loved it and husband thought it was good enough to be a dessert. I did make some mods: I cut the recipe to 4 servings, Used a fresh sweet potato, Used whole wheat pastry flour, Used yogurt instead of milk, Added some vanilla to the egg/yogurt mix, Before adding the egg whites I stirred in soy milk, 3 TBS. one at a time until it was the consistency I was looking for. I knew it was going to be thicker with the whole wheat pastry flour so I saved this step to near the end rather than trying to compensate for it at the beginning. This was a lot of time, work and used up a lot of dishes, LOL, but was really, really delicious! Definitely worth the effort. Thank you for a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very tasty and a nice way to use up some roasted pumpkin I had left over. I used cinammon instead of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of salt was more than enough. If you're not dousing them in syrup or using tinned s.p or pumpkin I'd add another tbsp of sugar to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyb
Living In: Lindfield, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
These were great! I used half whole wheat flour, less nutmeg (maybe 1/4 tsp), and at least 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I love the consistency (heavier and denser than regular waffles), and although they're not crisp when they first come off of the waffle iron, they crisp nicely when re-warmed later in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This recipe is *almost* delicious. At the time of this writing, the ingredients call for 1 TB baking powder and 1 teaspoon nutmeg. In our opinion this was too much of both. Would suggest halving the nutmeg and reducing the baking powder. We also added brown sugar and lemon juice to try and soften the aftertaste of baking soda. And we used whole wheat flower. With these modifications, it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Quite good! I used a large fresh sweet potato, baked for 8 minutes in the microwave. They peel quite easily and you don't get the "canned" taste. Because canned sweet potatoes are in syrup, a bit more sugar might be appropriate, although I found the tablespoon to be enough for my family's tastes. I felt the recipe calls for a smidge too much baking powder; I'll reduce it by 1/2 tsp. the next time around. I'll also try halving the nutmeg and adding some cinnamon--but these are just changes based on my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I used canned pumpkin, added cinnamon, used whole wheat flour instead of cake flour, egg substitute (3/4c) and used a drizzle of olive oil instead of butter. It needed more sugar, so I added some brown sugar. The waffles weren't crisp (kind of soggy), but they had great flavor once I added the br. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I loved these waffles! The flavors were not too sweet, and the nuts added a wonderful texture. Try it with whole wheat flour! I was able to substitute with no problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States