Sweet Potato Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by atomeve
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
YUMMY! This pie was absolutely delicious, and was a hit at Thanksgiving. I accidentally used half-and-half instead of light cream, but that worked out fine. I didn't find the sweet potato mix spicy enough, so I doubled the spices (more or less) and added a little nutmeg. The sweet potato mix came out to be FAR more than my 9 inch pie could handle, so I made a few small tarts to use up the extra. As someone else said, watch the sugar mixture on the top VERY carefully - mine was done in just under 2 minutes. I also tried to add whole pecan halves on the top, but they burned under the broiler - I would say if you are going to add "decorative" pecans, do it just after you pull the pie from the broiler, while the sugar is still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
THIS IS SOOO GOOD. I can't stop eating it. I've never really liked pumpkin pie but this is 10 stars. I used baked yams (1-1/2 lbs = 2 medium size yams - perfect for 2 cups), cut back sugar in the pie to 1/2 cup (1/4 cup white, 1/4 cup brown) and 1/3 cup brown sugar in the topping. I also used pumpkin pie spice (1 teaspoon) and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. Yam mixture seemed very runny when I put it in the pie crust but cooked up nicely. Watch the topping carefully under the broiler - cooks quickly. The ''Butter Flaky Pie Crust" was easy and delicious too. This pie IS NOT low cal but it doesn't have corn syrup or sweetened condensed milk (YEAH). You could probably make it with Splenda, egg beaters and fat-free half & half and it would still be good. My compliments to Lorrie ... this pie will definitely be on my holiday table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I found this recipe years ago and it made this non-cook very popular that Christmas. I lost my copy of the recipe until just now! My mother flipped and we're on our way to the grocery store now! Thanks for everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Wow! I overcooked the topping on this the first time I tried it. (The TOP of the pie should be 5" from the broiler, not the rack) But it still disappeared! I've since baked it to perfection and several people have asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Very smooth and creamy. I did add a dash of vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg to the recipe. Absolutely wonderful. I used a deep pie crust though, and still found that I had a lot of mixture left over when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I have just had my first bite of this pie and WOW! It came out so creamy. I did as another suggested and decreased the brown sugar in the topping to 1/3 cup but should have done the whole 2/3 cup. My husband did not find it sweet enough. So maybe next time I will either increase the sugar in the filling to 1 cup or increase the brown sugar to the amount called for in the recipe. Either way this is surely one recipe that I will make again and one for my personal favorites cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIM22871

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Wonderful, my first ever attempt at a pie! The only mistake I made was when the recipe called for the sugar to be creamed together with the other ingred. I added the brown sugar to it... OOPS! Next time I won't put the brown sugar in the pie... I'll save it for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is absolutely the BEST sweet potato pie I've ever had!!! I did reduce the brownsugar in the topping to 1/3 cup and it was just perfect. Everyone loved it at thanksgiving and is already requesting I bake it for Christmas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I took this to a "southern" style dinner and it was thoroughly enjoyed (especially the topping). While I would make it again, would try decreasing the filling sugar a bit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This is the best sweetpotato pie I have ever tasted! Sweet potato was very creamy, and I loved the pecan topping. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States