Sweet Potato Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Pretty good pie, but the caramelized pecan topping is only good immediately after preparing. Wait a few hours and the crunchiness is gone. Don't get me wrong: it's delicious just as it cools to a crunch, but alas, by the next day, the caramelized sugar is dissolved and the pecans are soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This recipe was awesome. Everyone liked it better than my tried and true pumpkin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
The pie filling was great - all was successful until I broiled the pie with the caramelized pecan topping. It burnt at only 3 minutes. I suggest leaving out the broiling portion. I believe the pie will be more savory if not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistletoes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I love this recipe! I only use 1 cup of cream though as I find that anymore yields too much filling... I also use only half a cup of brown sugar with the pecans so that they caramelise better. I add extra spice because I LOVE chrismassy flavoued desserts. I highly recomend this recipe to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Adjustments I made for this recipe: ADDED: 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla 1 1/2 tsp. bourbon 1 tbps. all purpose flour added these extra ingredients to the sweet potato mixture. I also used half and half rather than light cream. I added a pinch of salt to the pecan/butter/sugar mixture as well. This pie is amazing!!! Ive never even had sett potato pie let alone baked it, hands down the best pie Ive made! Thanks Lorrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I've used this recipe 4 times already! If you times it by 1.5, it makes the PERFECT amount for 2 deep dish pies. I used Kahlua instead of bourbon and got rave reviews from family, friends and coworkers. The first time, I made it exactly like directions (with Kahlua exception) and it was too chocolatey, so the next few times, I used 1/2 and then 1/3 the chocolate... the best was with the least chocolate, although I do think the chocolate adds/accentuates flavor, so don't leave it out altogether. Overall, an EXCELLENT recipe - I will use over and over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have made this recipie 3 years in a row for thanksgiving. It is amazing! Don't use mararine! Use butter! It's better for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is so awesome. Delicious. I made as a pie the first time. The second time, I tripled the recipe, left out the pie crust & cooked it in a 8x12 glass dish. It came out wonderful. Also, the first time I strained the sweet potatoes through a screen to get out all lumps. It was a pain. I did not do this for the casserole dish & it was just as good. No need to strain. I mixed everything with my kitchen Aid and it came out nice & smooth. I also subsituted the cloves for freshly grated nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and found the pie a bit watery on the inside. The top was too sweet and the inside not sweet enough. I would not make this pie again. It was very easy, which i liked, but still not worth my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDROYAI

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
very easy and SO good! the pecan topping made it extra fancy and added a different texture to the smooth filling. i used yams instead of sweet potatoes as they're less starchy and lumpy when mashed. made this with a basic flaky pie crust (also from allrecipes), and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States