Sweet Potato Pecan Pie by EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Great recipe, It was really easy to make and was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Easy and a good "comfort food". Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I made this pie for thanksgiving and it was hit! I skipped the orange zest and used a 9oz pie crust instead of 6oz. I also doubled the sweet potato and pecans ingredients in this recipe. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Has the potential to be a really great recipe, but I found 1 tsp of orange zest to be way TOO much. The orange zest overpowered the cinnamon/nutmeg flavor and the natural taste of the sweet potato. I couldn't taste the pecans at all. The texture of the filling and the sweetness were perfect and I liked the consistency of the pecan pie topping, but next time I'll use just a pinch of zest (less than 1/8 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHATScooking4DINNER
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Used yams for the recipe. Didn't have any orange zest, so I skipped it. The pie turned out great! Very easy to make. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was a very funny experience :O) I made this pie exactly following the recipe. "I" found the taste to be bland ... not sweet enough for me, YET 7 out the 8 people that completed the pie LOVED IT! If you don't like sweet this pie will work for you. The texture is creamier that the traditional sweet potato pie. I did not like the pecan topping. There was SO much of the liquid left over. I would cut the topping in half and keep the same amount of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I followed this recipe to a T, except for the grated orange rind (for some reason I can't zest to save my life). I made 2 of these pies for our big Thanksgiving get together last year and everybody loved it! I didn't find out until later, but one of my uncles actually took the second pie and hid it in the trunk of his car after he tasted it. He just called me yesterday and told me to please make sure I make him his own personal pie this year, lol :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This pie is unbelievably delicious and puts pumpkin pie to shame. The only alteration I would make to it when I make it again is to lessen the amount of orange zest as it takes away from the actual taste of the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I have made at least four of these pies since Thanksgiving and my family is asking me to make two for Christmas. Can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great recipe..thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States