Sweet Potato Pear Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I served this for Thanksgiving dinner in a round pan - stunning. I appreciate that the true flavor of the sweet potatoes comes through without alot of extra sugar added. This will become a tradition at my Thanksgiving table! Thanks for sharing - I would have never thought of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Dziabas Obee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I loved this (used the white sweet potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eViE nOeL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This has become a 'must have' for our turkey dinners. I make this with the 'cranberry sauce extraordinaire' also from this site and the results are fabulous. Even my kids who do not like sweet potatoes love this...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I make this version of sweet potatoes for the holidays instead of the candied ones covered with marshmallows. This version is healthier and displays nicely. I also like the more natural taste of sweet potatoes as opposed to something loaded with sugar. I slightly adjust the butter and sugar for the sauce because I think sweet potatoes are sweet enough as they are. Love the look of the cranberry sauce in the pears. This ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was fantastic! My modifications: reduced the butter and brown sugar by 1 Tbsp each, used 3 ripe, peeled, halved pears, apple cider in place of pear juice, and added the cranberry sauce before the last 15 minutes of baking. I'll probably reduce the brown sugar more and halve the honey next time, or serve it for dessert. It was very sweet. A hit in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This recipe could have easily been a 5! I only rated this a 4 because I liked my version better (less prep). I tweaked this recipe using: 4 cans pineapple-orange sweet potatoes mashed with 3 T. brown sugar, 1/4 t. pumpkin pie spice, & 4 T. reserved pear juice. I arranged the half-pears filled with cranberry sauce in a circle also and topped with chopped pecans. Then bake 40 min @ 350F. This is VERY sweet and def a dessert! TIP: You can substitute the orange zest the original recipe calls for with 1/2 can mandarin oranges, drained or 4 T. orange juice and 1/2 can crushed pineapple lightly drained if you can't find the pineapple-orange sweet potatoes. Also, if you use yams instead, you'll want to double the brown sugar! This is ideal for Thanksgiving ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Sweet potato, pear, nutmeg, etc. is a creative and awesome combination of tastes. I'm not particularly happy with the presentation though - there must be a better arrangement with fresh pears, sweet potato slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
my husband who hates anything related to sweet potatoes loved this recipe! i substituted 1 tbs oj for the peel because i didnt have any fresh. i also doubled glaze and poured over the entire dish instead and used dried cranberries instead of sauce. amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I made this in a round pan with the pears in a circle. It made for a stunning presentation. It also tasted delicious. A bit of a hassle, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Very good. Fussy for a regular weeknight, but great for a weekend or holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States