Sweet Potato, Pear and Pineapple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I was asked to make a sweet potato casserole for a dinner party. I saw this and wanted to try it out before serving to others. I halved the recipe and baked it the full time. It was very good. I found the bread to be a little too soggy; I possibly could have baked it a little longer to take care of that, although the topping was really perfect. Cooking any more would have changed that. At any rate, the dish has a lot of good flavors, the subtle orange and ginger flavors really adding to it. It is sweet and could certainly be served with whipped cream or ice cream as a dessert. In fact, when my husband tasted his, he said, "This could be a dessert." I am definitely going to make this for the dinner party and will make it many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I took this to my family's Easter dinner & everyone loved it...it went so well w/ our Easter ham. I doubled the recipe but only used 5 eggs & not 6, which was plenty. I did use the streusel topping (which was fantastic w/ the orange zest). It will become a new Easter tradition...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllisonRenee
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
WOW !!! I never knew vegetables could taste this good. I omitted the streusel topping and placed extra sliced pears onto pudding before baking. It was served as a side dish (not dessert).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
this was a wonderful warm desert on a chilly evening! i used fresh pears and fresh sweet potatoes, and cut the calories, carbs, and fat by using non fat milk, non fat sour cream, and sugar substitue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Maybe I was expecting to much but had it not been for the topping this would have been a full disappointment. I had to make a carmel sauce to put over it so my family would eat it. Also found I had to bake it an additional 25 minutes for it to be done in the center. Will stick to my old bread pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I loved this. I did it using real sweet potatoes, pears and pineapple. I also, did it as a desert and topped it with dream whip. My husband and daughter loved it. I love pineapple so I just cut pieces but next time I will definitely crush my fresh pineapple. This is definitely a keeper but if you decide to use fresh I had to cook it for a total of 1hour and 15 minutes therefore it gave enough time for the potatoes to cook in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was really tasty tho I had to make some modifications for what I had on hand. I used half and half instead of milk just because I had a lot that needed to be used up, acorn squash cooked in simple syrup because I didn't have any sweet potatos, and I used sweet potato rolls that I made with acorn squash from last night instead of french bread. We really really enjoyed this and it used up the can of pears and pineapple I had hanging out in the pantry for way to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I served this with Christmas dinner. My parents loved it. I might try a lower calorie version with splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
A truely versitile recipe. I used leftover banana bread, apple instead of sweet potato. It turned out to be a winner at Sunday lunch with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Stalmans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States