Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
just eh. I used the blender because we don't have a food processor, and I'm not sure the consistency was right. I agree with the others that they didn't seem to cook all the way. I wish they were better--- the kids didn't eat more than a few bites and they normally inhale pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delicious recipe. I didn't follow all measurements exactly, but they came out well! I didn't blend the oats and liked their thickness in the mix a bit better. I used Agave instead of Molasses, and I also added cinnamon. If you don't want to add a sweetner use vanilla yogurt or a flavor of your choice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
lots of work but not enough flavor. Healthy option, good for toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I enjoyed these hearty, flavorful pancakes! Without a leavening agent, it was hard to tell when they were ready to flip! Even when they crumbled because I flipped them early, they were wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
The yogurt makes the pancakes very heavy. They do not turn out light and fluffy like a pancake should be. The original recipe was extremely thick, and even after thinning it out according to some of the suggestions, I still had trouble getting the "pancakes" to cook all of the way through. You may also want to add some more seasonings, as they end up tasting quite bland if you don't use syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe will work. It was delicious, but I made a lot of modifications (hence 4 stars). My husband did not even use syrup they were so good! First, I substituted 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour + 1/2 cup wheat bran for the oats. Second, I used 1 heaping c leftover sweet potato casserole instead of the plain sweat potato. Third, to combat the thickness of the batter, I used an extra half cup of vanilla yogurt and thinned it a little more with some leftover apple cider. I'm sure apple juice, milk, or water would work fine. The final consistency was similar to traditional pancakes and they cooked fine. For more flavor, double the cinnamon, add a pinch of nutmeg, and try some chopped nuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
2 stars because they definitely need some work. The consistency is very thick and does not cook in the middle easily. The flavor still needs a bit of something to give it a little kick. I will update if I find the right somethings to change/add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I was really excited for these, but was dissapointed in the end. I didn't think that they had much taste to them. I did omit the molases, so that may have been the key ingredient. I gave 3 stars b/c although i didn't like them, my boyfriend said he would eat them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crossfitgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rural Retreat, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Mine were really terrific!! I was glad I had read some of the previous reviews and and I think I manage to avoid some of the problems. I (accidentally) added a tsp. baking powder. I did use oil (although Canola, not Olive). I did not use molasses but used 2 tsp. Splenda. Also, my batter sat in the fridge for several hours before cooking. It was insanely thick, but cooked through easily. It satisfied my need for a no flour/no sugar pancake and my kids had something they could put syrup on. Only four stars just beacuse of the modifications, otherwise it would have been five. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I tried to like these, I really did. I baked the pancakes for 10 minutes at 350*F after frying, to be sure they were cooked through. Overall, they were okay, but it really isn't a secret what they're made of. Too much work for what ended up tasting exactly like sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States