Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I think I'll try i\t in a casserole type dish next with with the orange rinds on the bottom. Scoop out everything but the rinds & voila. Less work but not as pretty as the whole orange rinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
What a great recipe! Made it on the spur of the moment for a dinner party and these sweet potatoes were the hit of the meal! Forwarded this recipe to 3 guests today! Allow a little more time than anticipated for hollowing out the oranges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
My family loved this recipe. When I was making it, it was a little soupy but it turned out great. Nice twist and pretty presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
These were SO incredibly delicious and lovely to serve. Definitely the best and most elegant sweet potatoes I've ever tasted. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
very good will make again but will only use 1/2 the sugar and cut down on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
Wonderful!! I served this Thanksgiving and had 3 recipe requests. My 5 children and a cousin that never ate, didn't like sweet potatoes, loved them and asked for more. Scooping out the oranges is a bit time consuming. A grapefruit spoon and kitchen shears help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Very tasty and the presentation made a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This was absolutely fabulous! My hubby said it's the best new recipe that I've tried and I try a lot of wonderful new recipes. I didn't put it into the orange shells, although I'm sure it's a beautiful presentation. I also cut out a little of the butter and sugar. This is definately a keeper! Thank you so much, Louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
EXCELLENT! A few years ago, I watched Emeril make Bourbon Street Sweet Potatoes so I decided to try them. I never like sweet potatoes before that recipe. I must say that I think this one beats Emerils. A TIP, I had no orange juice so I cut my orange in half instead of just cutting the top off and then squeezed the juice to use and scooped the rest out for my shell. I see alot of people have complained about the time involved in the scooping, but I think if you do it the way I did, it would be much easier and quicker as you have more room to scoop. I also was able to get two servings with one orange that way. Of course the portions would be smaller, so if you really like it, go for two servings! I will definately make this again and again and certainly use it the next time I entertain! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Marvelous! I cut the oranges in half to make it easier to scoop out the flesh, then the bottoms in foil while baking. This way the orange skin cooks in its own juice and you can eat the shell with the sweet potato filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States