Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Soooo good, but darn sweet! I cut the oranges in half, juiced them and cleaned out the insides then stored them in the fridge overnight. It made Thanksgiving day prep much easier! I followed this recipe exactly and everyone loved them, but I think I will cut the sugar in half next time. I also forgot to put water in the bottom of the casserole dish, but it didn't make any difference. Thanks for the fun holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Wow! This was so good! And a lot easier than it looks. Everyone was so impressed at Thanksgiving dinner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~MOMMY~
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Three stars for creativity and presentation, but the orange flavor was overpowering and they were just a little too sweet for a side dish. Unfortunately, I probably won't be making these again - perhaps something similar looking, but with a little less sugar and without the orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I actually made these last year, but forgot to review. They were amazing and I'll be making them again this year. Much better presentation and flavor than traditional sweet potato casserole. A few tips that made things easier for me: The big tip I wanted to impart is that their is def. a science to scooping out the oranges. I know it isn't easy to explain but everything goes about 3x as quickly if you get in between the orange rind and the white skin covering the fruit using your finger. Then you can basically peel the orange out gently with your hand leaving a nice smooth orange rind bowl. A spoon or knife tends to puncture the white skin and makes it harder to get everything out and in the end you are stuck scraping with a spoon, and there are still bits of orange clinging to the inside and a lot more mess. The only problem with the quick method is that you have to be careful when you come to the bottom as you might accidentally remove the very bottom plug and your orange bowl will have a hole. The solution is to pinch that piece off when you are scooping/peeling. If you still accidentally tear out the little bottom part (which I did on one or two) it is all right, just wrap the oranges loosely in some aluminum foil. The second tip. I had some problems balancing my oranges in the pan and the water. I ended up putting aluminum foil around them (loosely) and then when I put them in the pan the foil allowed them to prop up against one another). They still cooked fine but I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I did cut WAY back on the sugar and the butter. I only used half of the sugar and less than half of the butter. It still came out great with the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Personally, I thought this was one of the easiest recipes and it is the most delicious I have ever had!!!!! I did have a guest tell me it was too sweet and another tell me it would be a great dessert. But, I do have a huge sweet tooth and it was just perfect in my opinion! I have to add that I used the fresh squeezed oj from when I was hollowing out the oranges; very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These sweet potato's are so good! My husband who is not the biggest fan of even candy sweet potato's loved them. I followed the recipe to a T the fist time I made them and they were so good, but towards the end my husband and I felt like it was a little to much because of all the butter and sugar that is put in them. Because you put brown sugar on the top I reduced the amount of white sugar that is put in the potato's to at least 1/2 a cup. If you want it less sweet put only 1/4 cup in with the potato's. Also if you want you can reduce the butter down to 3/4 cup as well. That makes them a little less fating but still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
i made these for a holiday meal, and my family -- most of whom don't like sweet potatoes -- couldn't get enough of them. now i find myself craving them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very pretty and tasty as well. A little on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
awesome! everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kimberton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States