Sweet Potato Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great recipe! One thing that keeps triggering me though is the nutritional information on the side- there is no way this is 900+ calories per serving! 1 cup of mashed sweet potato is only 180 cals. There's a little sugar and a little butter but no cream or anything. I'm thinking that's the total recipe amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe had such a beautiful presentation!!! It really wasn't that hard or time consuming to prepare! I read all the reviews before hand and took the following suggestions - I cut the oranges in half and used a grapefruit knife to cut out the orange, making sure to keep the peel in-tack. I wrapped the sweet potatoes in foil and baked them for about 1 hour to keep them from absorbing too much water and to enhance their flavor. Once cooled, I just squeezed out the flesh - no peeling necessary. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 a cup and used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I totally left out the butter - it did not need it, and boy did that save a lot of fat and calories! next time I will probably leave out the eggs as I thought they would hold the sweet potatoes more firmly together - but it did not make a difference - the texture was mushy so the eggs didn't add much. I added about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the sweet potato mixture. As for the topping i wanted to make the topping as stated but I did not have whole pecans I made it with chopped nuts instead next time I will make it with the whole pecans. I used cut pieces of tin foil and wrapped it around the oranges as they baked so that the orange peel won't burn. If I don't use the eggs next time - i will just skip this step and not even bake the orange cups - as the filling was delicious before baked, and no eggs will lead me not to have to do this step. This got rave reviews from all of my guests! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this dish for Easter and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
i have made this dish twice now and both times it has turned out sub par. it is not a bad dish it just lacks in a little bit of everything. one thing that i can say for sure is make sure that you do not use splenda brown sugar in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie B
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
We loved this new twist on sweet potatoes. My oranges were small, so I only cut the top quarter off. I used a grapefruit spoon to remove the flesh from the shell and it was pretty easy; just like cleaning a little jack-o-lantern. I got enough juice from the oranges to use that in the recipe, and I cut the sugar in half. I used walnuts instead of pecans because that's what I had. They were FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I cut the sugar down my 75% based on the reviews. It was still sweet enough for everyone. Plus such a fancy presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
absolutely fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is the 3rd time I have made them and my family loved them each time. I decreased the white sugar in half but left the rest of the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
excellent! i made this for the first time on Christmas and it was delicious. the citrus scent, delicious flavor and wonderful presentation make this recipe a keeper!thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Wonderful recipe. Everyone loved the different way to have sweet potatoes. I did make a couple of minor changes... brown sugar instead of white, and decreased to half a cup as recommended by other reviewers. I also did not put nuts on top because of an allergic guest. I had a little bit of left over filling and just baked it in a ramekin alongside the oranges... it was FABULOUS that way, too.... so next time if I don't want to bother with the oranges, I'll just prepare it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States